We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveler rating
505
211
59
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
211
59
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister restaurantcharming hoteljunior suiteguest roomsparking spaceup to datecentral oxfordluxury hotelfirst floorbreakfast and dinnersmall hotelcomfortable roomsbanbury roadreception staffreception areathe ground floorcar park
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 809 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017

I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel and while our room was very comfortable I did miss a few simple amenities. There is no lounge unless you count the small area in your bedroom. The hotel is so busy from morning till night with clients for breakfast,afternoon tea ( which looked fantastic though I didn’t partake myself), to dinner that there is no where but your bedroom for you to relax, with a glass of wine or the papers. There is no separate bar. There was no kettle in the bedroom so to make tea you have to ‘pump’ the coffee machine for hot water - and there was no milk either.
On the other hand, the bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom well designed and equipped. Had the hotel had somewhere I could have escaped to that wasn’t the bedroom I waould have given it a five star rating.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank FamilyofFiveDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback.
The Old Parsonage Hotel and Parsonage Grill are indeed very popular with residents and locals, and we are therefore very busy at times. We are truly sorry to hear you didn’t have the chance to have a peaceful rest during your stay. Our lovely library is the quietest, most relaxing shared space and is seldom busy. Apologies this was taken up during your stay.
Regarding the kettle in the room, our higher categories of rooms, such as yours provide Nespresso machines which produce hot water at the click of a button for tea, however we are more than happy to provide you with a kettle if it is more suitable for your needs. A jug of fresh milk is always available in our minibar, we are disappointed to hear this was missing on this occasion and we apologise for this.
Thank you so much once again for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is a 17th century building that has been refurbished. Accommodation is comfortable, alhtough the rooms could be a bit more spacious. The place is spotless. Wherever you go, if you find a speckle of dust you will be rewarded. What impressed me the most though, was the service offered to the guests during breakfast and dinner. Absolutely impeccable. On the negative side, reception staff have a lot to learn. Most important of all, not to give vague answers to specific questions.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panathinaeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
We are really glad you enjoyed the Old Parsonage and found your room comfortable, albeit a bit on the small side, we would like to inform you that our hotel has a wide range of different rooms categories, maybe next time we could offer you our superior deluxe room, junior suite or suite that are definitely more spacious.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, on the other hand we are sorry to hear you were less than impressed with our reception team. We take good care to train our team to answer all manner of our guests’ enquiries and to make considered recommendations. We are therefore sorry to hear we appeared to be unhelpful in answering your questions on this occasion.
Please do contact me directly if you wish to discuss further.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

If you’re on the fence about this place, just do it. Whatever you’re looking for in Oxford, you’ll get it here. Great location? Check. Beautiful? Check. Historic? Check. The place is really so ambiant but with every modern amenity; fantastic service, 24-hr room service (yes!), cozy corners, a rooftop patio, a library open all night (I think, definitely open really late). It’s true the rooms are small but really, who cares? And where are they not? They’re bright and airy and stylish so it just doesn’t matter. From the bathroom amenities to the art in the bar, this place is top-notch.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you so much for your marvellous review!
We are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our hotel and service.
Our team look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

I have just had my most recent of many stays at this beautiful little hotel, and can only say I am looking forward to my next stay, which thankfully is less than a month away. A warm, cozy experience in every possible sense, in a lovely old building sensitively renovated and upgraded, with courteous and helpful staff, a great bar in an area with a big glowing fire, and a restaurant serving excellent modern, unfussy food, all fitted in to a compact space that somehow seems always welcoming and never overcrowded despite the obvious popularity of the establishment.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank CDH1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you so much for your marvellous review, it's music to our hears.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at the Old Parsonage once again and that you are eager to come back in our lovely hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in few weeks.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for a business trip and i was totally amazed...by far the best hotel in oxford... it is a historic building completely renovated and room is brilliantly decorated... luxurious and simple at the same time. Shower is great, amenities wonderful and bed is very comfortable... room is cosy and reminds you of English luxury in a village cottage.
Restaurant is well serviced and food is very good.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Philios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

We would like to thank you very much for your marvellous review!

We truly appreciate your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews