We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small and uncomfortable room,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very small and uncomfortable room,”
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Location and some knowledge of the ownership of this hotel influenced our decision but it was very disappointing. Judging by the fire escape map on the back of the room door all of the rooms in this hotel are small and over half are what we had; tiny. The bed was queen size and far too short for a six footer, it was not possible to stand up in the shower, the bath was sit only and the door to the room opened directly onto the bed nearly touching it. I estimated the room about eight foot by eleven foot. The small bed was on castors which resulted in waking up and finding pillows between it and the wall hung bedstead. Together with the thin walls, the noisy location and a fan from a room below meant little or no sleep. When we mentioned all of this at check out the reception staff didn’t bat an eyelid but just handed us the bill.

Our children were in one of their biggest rooms with three single beds which easily took up the space. There was a better ceiling height in this room. The premises consists of what looks like a 1960s built student digs block attached to the back of an interesting old house. The car park is very tight and they can't guarantee a space for guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    185
    53
    23
    10
See reviews for
141
322
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed here for my husband's surprise 50th birthday. We had 2 rooms, 30 and 25, directly above The Pike Room in the old part of the hotel, which we used on Saturday night for a private family function. Nothing could have been better, (but if you want a peaceful night try not to stay in room 25 as it is directly above the function room, and so can be noisy), as this gave us privacy and the feel of being in our own home. The food was absolutely delicious, and Andre, the restaurant manager, arranged every detail perfectly, giving me sound advice on the wine, flowers, cakes etc., so that we enjoyed our evening without a single hitch.
The ambience was magical, and suits the Oxbridge college atmosphere. If you want flash 5 star, the The Randolph is probably your cup of tea. It is expensive here: our rooms were £250 per night each, which is difficult to justify for the quality of the rooms alone, but the service is excellent, the hotel beautifully decorated, well manicured, maintained and in a perfect location. The breakfast was very good, but the bacon disappointing. Parking is a real issue. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Spent a very comfortable night here while visiting family. Free internet access and free parking greatly appreciated. Breakfast was a bit greasy and the streaky bacon more continental than English! A drink in the bar with live Jazz was a treat. Ambience was very relaxing. Limited Hotel parking but adjacent uni parking offered.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronMaidenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Staff were a treat. Hotel and food al fresco excellent. Stay here instead of the uppity Randolph!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Scotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My wife and I attended a wedding in the Oxford Oratory. We choose this hotel for its location close to the church. It is also a 5 minute walk to the centre of Oxford.
Our stay was good value for money. The service was excellent. We were offered free parking, on a university parking lot, next to the hotel. Our check-out time was exented to 12:30. Our breakfast was included and there was a choise of a continental breakfast buffet and a served English breakfast. We enjoyed our English breakast very much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStoneLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I had booked the hotel long in advance, based on the feedback from my fellow colleagues and the very enjoyable restaurant. We are aware that the hotel is in a charming old house, ideally situated in the center of Oxford while remaining quiet, and that it indeed offers significant charm and "oxonian" character. The service was good and the restaurant excellent, as usual. We just had expected more from the "luxury" room for 200 + pounds a night. The room was nice and individual, but nothing spectacular. In comparison to many other hotels in its class, we found it simply overpriced. Although I was satisfied with the service, and like the restaurant, I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Charming, olde English hotel. The room was rather tiny, but we were only going to sleep in it so that didn't matter, nor the fact that it overlooked the car park. (I could keep an eye on my car so that was good!)
Food was good, decor comfortable and classy and it's location was absolutely ideal. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing