We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had eaten at the restaurant here a couple of times and enjoyed the food and ambience immensely. However, the hotel doesn't live up to the restaurant in quality or decor. My room was a deluxe option and certainly spacious, but the decor was somewhat jaded and for privacy's sake I had to keep the curtains perpetually closed as the French windows opened onto the hotel gardens. This meant the room was rather gloomy. The hotel is actually a modern extension to the hotel's far prettier front facade and rather charmless. Breakfast, however, was ample and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gallivant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are, at this very moment, closed for refurbishment and I am pleased to report that our ‘jaded décor’ has been consigned to history. Work continues apace and we on schedule to re-open at the end of March.

I would like to clarify that the hotel gardens are private and for exclusive use of hotel guests. They are not over-looked and, we feel, provide a peaceful aspect with plenty of daylight, at the rear of the hotel.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘new’ Old Parsonage on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 730 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. Granted, it's a little quirky in some ways (we had to transit the small dining room in order to access our suite), but we were charmed by the two sets of french doors that led from our suite to a semi-private garden containing a few wooden tables and chairs. It was a heavenly place for a brief reading session or a moment of quiet contemplation, especially as St. Giles Church was situated on the other side of the garden wall.
There is a small parking area to one side where we allowed our car to rest for our entire stay, while we walked everywhere. Nothing important to see or do was very far away; and a number of good restaurants were within easy striking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noah203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I spent 2 lovely nights here a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was plentiful and hot. A very central hotel with car parking. Unfortunately I didn't have lunch or dinner there , but the high teas looked good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdavies460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Parsonage in October. What a delightful place. The old building is very cozy and very well decorated.
The room is quite comfortable, with a small terrace. The dining room is pretty cool and it is worth dinner at the hotel.
Staff are helpful, despite a little confusion with the clothes we sent to wash. But nothing to ruin a perfect stay.
I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My daughter & I, were there last September 2013. We were staying there for about 4 nights. Amazing, helpful & very welcoming staff. Our room is on the first floor with a view towards the little private courtyard. All in all, we have had a fantastic time and definitely would love to come back again, since my daughter now is attending one of the University there in Oxford. The hotel itself is amazing old & full of character building. I love Old Parsonage!

Room Tip: It is where you can just walk, not too far away to High Street/Centre for shopping(s), loads of nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

If you want a relaxed atmosphere in Oxford we would totally recommend you stay at the Old Parsonage. Our 2 nights was absolutley perfect from the minute we walked through the door to be greated with a nice smile and a roaring log fire, we were shown to our very quaint room which apparantley Oscar Wilde used to frequent. Our room was perfect and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast is something you should not miss the Full English is absolutley fantastic. The staff are so friendly and helpful,its just a shame the hotel is closing for 4 months for a complete refurbishment, cant wait to go back and see all the improvements..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First, the good news: the staff are great--very service-oriented. And the amenities are high-end.

The bad news: the rooms are WAY too small to be comfortable. The bed is a double/twin (not a king, and not even a queen). There is very little room to walk around the bed, The furniture is likewise small or even missing: the desk is not large enough to be functional; there is no bureau/chest of drawers to hold your clothes; and the night tables are too small to hold anything larger than a small glass.

The cramped feeling starts at the lobby. You have to walk through the restaurant and up a few stairs to get to the guest rooms (there are people to help you with your luggage if you need it). It's hard to explain, but it feels very odd to do this. It must be unpleasant for the diners, too, frankly. If the restaurant is full, people need to move out of your way as you pass with your luggage.

I'd have no problem with this is the price reflected this. But this hotel is extremely expensive. So for a five-star price, you're getting a two-star room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadalot212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $230 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing