We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Imaginative redevelopment of a central site with great attention to detail - quite a pleasure.

Expensive but not excessively so given the location and service which really was excellent - meticulously professional but friendly without being casual.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wadestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is particularly gratifying to hear that you received exactly the level of service we aim to provide; it is so important that we strike the right balance.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Old Parsonage Hotel, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 4 month old baby during a heatwave in July 2013. The hotel staff (especially Voitek [sp?] at the front desk) were very helpful and kind. They wisely put us in room 30, which is slightly isolated from the rest of the rooms so the baby noise did not disturb anyone else. This actually made it a lot more relaxing for us. They also provided a (clean and relatively new) cot for the baby, which made travelling easier. We decided to stay an extra day and they allowed us to keep the same room, although I think it meant some reservation gymnastics for the front desk. We got in-room massages and would recommend them for other guests. We also got the champagne afternoon tea on Sunday, which was delightful!
The location is nice too - close to the Jericho neighbourhood of Oxford.
We first stayed in this hotel in 2008, and I am glad we returned five years later. It is still very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Comfortable bed...cosy bedroom overlooking an inner courtyard, extremely quiet location, wonderful teak furniture on shaded patio, where bikes, which were free to use, awaited us after a Lovely breakfast on shaded patio which was surrounded by stone walls, furnished with teak tables and chairs and umbrellas for shade. Bikes were available for use to tour the city, free of charge. Extremely pleasant staff, who were exceptionally helpful with directions to various spots around town and outside of Oxford. Very intimate dining room, with bar off the side with wood burning fireplace....home away from home. Wonderful relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Our room was not overly large but that was fine...if space is an issue, perhaps ask for larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottieg13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Expected old world charm instead found, apart from the beautiful old fireplace, simply dated accomodation squeezed into an old building. Downstairs consisted of a bar with a raised area with tables referred to as an "informal dining room" through which guests have to walk (including with their luggage) to access the rooms or to use the ladies restroom whose entrance was in the corner of the restaurant. There was no lounge area leaving guests with a choice of relaxing in your room or the enclosed courtyard which had some charm but the lichen growing on the garden furniture did not impress and spoke volumes about general maintenance of this hotel. Our double room was small with an equally small wardrobe which contained the tea/coffee tray, a mini fridge and the storage for the decorative pillows leaving no space for clothes meaning we lived out of our suitcases which had to stay on the floor as there was no where else for them. The rest of the room consisted of a shelf over which was a noisy air-conditioning unit and an upright chair which served as the dressing table and a slightly more comfortable chair wedged under the TV! The balcony was in keeping with the room being tiny and overlooked the carpark. The marble bathroom admittedly did have some marble tiles but also a poor quality shower over the bath more in keeping with a budget hotel. Even the housekeeping left much to be desired with no clean glasses and turndown service at 7.15 just as we were getting ready to go out. The staff whilst not rude, made no effort to check whether everything was ok and on check-out when we voiced our views we were told they would be passed on to the management for a response and 6 weeks later we are still waiting! All this for £235 per night with NO breakfast! Apparantly this hotel is ranked number 3 in Oxford - would have preferred a chain hotel at least they give value for money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecottageGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We welcome constructive comments, such as these; they are invaluable to improving the service we provide. I am pleased to be able to inform you that many of your concerns are due to be addressed in the near future, when the hotel undergoes a major refurbishment, starting in November.

Being an historic building, we are unable to offer the standardised accommodation to be found at a chain hotel. Our rooms vary in size, location and dimension; one of the unique aspects of the Old Parsonage. Whilst no amount of refurbishment can alter the structural size of the rooms, it is the intention of our owner, Jeremy Mogford, to provide the highest quality accommodation in Oxford (being ranked third is just not good enough!)

We appreciate that outside of the summer months, when the front terrace, residents’ garden and roof terrace are available, there are few places for residents to relax. To this end, we shall be creating an exclusive residents’ lounge, as part of the refurbishment; just one of the major improvements we shall be making to the layout of the hotel.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Old Parsonage Hotel, to view these improvements for yourself, when the hotel re-opens in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely old building with lots of character and a short distance from city centre. We stayed in Room 14 which was a superior deluxe room. Not a very nice outlook over the car park and the sofa and chair in the sitting area were shabby, the bathroom was very small and the dressing table area extremely cramped next to the bed.
We booked "dine and stay" and had our meals in the hotel. As one reviewer said, the tables are far too close and the fact that you have to walk through the restaurant to access your room is very bad. The food was good on the Saturday evening, but Sunday was awful. My duck egg starter had to go back as it was stone cold, my Husband's sirloin steak was tepid and not cooked as he ordered and had to go back and the raspberry meringue was so chewy it stuck to the fork! Definitely not worth the very expensive price tag. We were given 2 free glasses of wine as an apology (from the waitress not the manager I might add!) Sunday breakfast was too hectic as the public can also dine here for breakfast and the table we were given was too close to the service station. It gives the impression guests do not matter.
On the positive side, they had reserved a parking space for us and the complimentary walking tour was interesting and worthwhile. On the whole, we were disappointed with the standard of the room considering it cost £390 per night (including £50 towards dinner) and will not return again.

Room Tip: Avoid the "dine & stay" package as £25 is not enough to cover the cost of the meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took 8 colleagues for a meeting in the library at the Old Parsonage, followed by a lunch. Anyone who lives in or visits Oxford knows that this is a beautiful hotel and fine restaurant, so I won't wax lyrical about the food, although it was very good and the building and setting (exceptional). What I will say, is the staff are discrete, attentive and very professional and my colleagues and I will certainly return for future meetings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CH3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice old building with parking, very important in Oxford.
We had a standard room, very small with a noisy air conditioner, and a bit pricy for what we got. Breakfast was specially on the expensive side, we just had coffee and had the rest of our meals elsewhere.
The staff was very helpful and helped us with all our questions.

Would we stay here again? Probably would look for a less expensive alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $230 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing