We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Parsonage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$367
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$233
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
$99
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
476
205
59
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
205
59
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasister restaurantcomplimentary walking tourcharming hoteljunior suiteparking spaceup to dateluxury hotelfirst floorcentral oxfordbreakfast and dinnersmall hotelcomfortable roomspublic areasbank hotelreception staffreception area
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 774 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I, as part of a larger party, stayed at the Old Parsonage for two nights and as experienced international travellers for decades, were very impressed with this hotel. Particularly impressive were the staff who were friendly and efficient and this coupled with the location and the facilities and dining, made for a great stay. The rooms were of a smaller size than I would like but one could not really expect larger in a period property. Our bed was perhaps a little softer than we might choose but the room was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Old Parsonage dates from 1660 and is a superb boutique hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and prepared: if you can manage a suite (and there are very good offers indeed), then you will be in heaven. The Old Parsonage is splendidly placed to walk on foot around the heart of the City and the University of Oxford. One of our party walked for eight hours on the first day and visited fifteen Colleges! Oxford abounds in eating places, but you must never stray from the Old Parsonage. The food is excellently sourced and beautifully prepared and served, with imaginative dishes and the lightest of delicious sauces. The bar and dining room reflect the desperate need of Oxford folk to share ideas in a lively manner! They can be crowded but the service is excellent, and there are additional comfortable tables in the delightful garden if the weather permits. As eco-warriors we did not have the burden of parking a car: the train service is excellent from London. We actually came from Edinburgh in a day. This is an historic hotel in one of the world's great cities.

Room Tip: Some are clearly small; go for size and a suite if possible. Special offers including dinner are very good value.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithMcClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Old Parsonage could not be in a more charming wisteria-clad building dating from the 1700s. Do not, however, accept a booking in room #1 which is on the ground-floor literally inches away from the car park. Additionally, the room smelled very musty, the bathroom was without heat and we were woken at 0800 by construction noise from the unit next door. We asked for a room change, which was granted. Apologies were provided but no other concession spontaneously offered. The restaurant operation is very busy and takes up most of the public area in the hotel leaving no lounge space for hotel guests. Yes, the location is great, the beds are comfortable, French press coffee is provided in the room, staff are courteous and the fire in the lobby area is cozy, although there's no way to enjoy it due to the busy restaurant custom. Overall, the Old Parsonage is jaw-droppingly overpriced for the level of amenities offered and the less than stellar cleanliness of the two rooms we stayed in. Others have no doubt had a better experience at the hotel, but I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room #1.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatles_Fan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely hotel, not in the city centre but close enough to walk in. "Cosy" is a good word to sum up this hotel. We paid for the larger room, glad we did as it still wasn't very big.
The hotel bar and restaurant are also not very big, but busy for afternoon tea over the bank holiday weekend. Much quieter for dinner which was very delicious but very expensive. We didn't mind as it was an anniversary night way.
All staff were friendly, polite & helpful.
We will go back but be a bit more mindful of the pennies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo90Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I've stayed in few hotels that provide French press (cafetiere) coffee in the room so this was a welcome surprise. Other delights: manicures and massages in the room - you've got to love it when the spa comes to you!!

Staff was polite and helpful and the location was convenient to the shopping streets and main museums. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and quiet despite the busy street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantomile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews