We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, perfect pick for our first trip to Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
1 review
“Charming hotel, perfect pick for our first trip to Oxford”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were very pleased that we picked the Old Parsonage Hotel to stay in during our recent visit to Oxford. We arrived early in the morning because we had just flown from New York, and were tired and hungry. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and our rooms were ready by the time we were finished eating. The rooms were charming, and the beds were very comfortable. I really enjoyed the heated towel racks in the bathrooms. During our first day, we enjoyed high tea in the private dining room, which also houses a hotel library. We always received very good service at breakfast and for tea. One evening we stayed downstairs in front of the roaring fire and played cards.
The hotel was very helpful in arranging car service from the hotel and to our trip to London. When we would returned from our outings, we always found our rooms perfectly cleaned.

We loved the location of the hotel. It was very easy to explore Oxford by foot. You just walked out the door and were immediately immersed in the history of the city. Our daughter was studying at Christ Church College. One of our highlights was eating in her dining hall and taking a tour of her college. There were plenty of shops, restaurants, pubs and museums within walking distance.

If you have the opportunity to stay in Oxford, we hope you will choose the Old Parsonage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    191
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
144
330
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our daughter had her wedding here. The staff could not have been more helpful and the whole event went off without a hitch.
It was only a very small wedding but the hotel is only big enough to cope with a small wedding. With around 20 guests we squeezed into the room for the ceremony.
The meal for the guests really was excellent as was the English breakfast the following morning, although the choice for the continental breakfast was a bit limited.
We had two rooms both of which were very nice. Room 6 was a very nice double and 16 was a very nice suite for the bride and groom.
The rooms are on the expensive side but I guess you have to expect that in central Oxford.
Overall we had a wonderful day and could not have expected more from any of the staff.
We have added it to our "list" of restaurants that we want to visit in Oxford and hope to enjoy a meal there soon.

Room Tip: Room1 is a very nice large double. Room 6 is an adequate size double and room 16 is a very nice suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a two night weekend break at the Old Parsonage. On a positive note, The rooms were very clean with attactive decor. The en-suite was fresh, clean and well maintained. The staff were attentive and very friendly and helpful. The downstairs hall and dining room were lovely with the log fire, and wooden panelling and beautiful artwork. The breakfasts were very tasty and well presented. On a negative note, it is a little bit pricey for what you get - the room was very small.

We enjoyed the complimentary tour, and found the tour-guide a very pleasant chap. All in all, a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We had room 20 which was very quiet, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathryns review N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed here on a number of occasions. Once or twice in rooms so small that they could be listed in a records book; on other occasions in the Wilde suite with its large bathroom and twin sinks. The smell of the fire, the conviviality of the lounge and the decadence of the afternoon tea make this a hotel that's a pleasure to arrive at, in particular in the winter when it's cold outside. Assuming you can find somewhere to park.
However, like an eccentric old relative, every time you leave the OP you wonder why you'd forgotten how quirky, annoying, dear, and frustrating it can be - from it's creaky stairs, to haphazard check-in, to lack of parking, to no real common areas, no spa, and simply STRATOSPHERIC prices.
But you know if that in a few months, when you've not seen it for a while, you'll quite fancy meeting up again. Sadly, the OP could never, ever exit without Oxford. Unfortunately, as Oxford is bereft of good sizeable hotels, Oxford cannot do without it.
What the OP needs more than anything is a large international quality hotel to open with a good spa, on the outskirt of town. With 50% cheaper rooms, the OP would be the best hotel in England.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, as the small ones are almost impossible to dress in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timknipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A really nice venue for an after cinema meal but unless you have booked in advance you will end up eating in the bar area.
Table number 1 is the best one for two people but you must book ahead. Wine list is ok, not exhaustive but passable but the food is top quality!

Room Tip: Get one with a bed in it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place, small rooms, lovely staff and food was great. Very cozy little B and B in Oxford. We will definitely stay here again.

It is a very old building with lots of history. There is a fireplace greeting you when you walk in. Very British place...great high tea as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

SSL (sleep, shower index) 9/10. A great bed and shower in a large room and spacious bathroom. Everything worked in the room which is very hard to fault.

Location is good, about a 10 minute level walk to town and universities and parking was available.

This is quite a nice property with a lot of history and a mixture of rooms. We enjoyed the premises, clean, well equipped rooms and its history, but the experience was let down by the young staff who did their job but without passion, commitment to clients or any apparent thought of client service. They got through everything but my wife and I and our friends, all continually felt that we were imposing on them.

It seemed to be a bit expensive for what you get. The restaurant provides good food but sadly they can’t make a good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
689 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing