We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit expensive for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We had 3 rooms. We found the rooms quite nice though it is difficult to get the kettle out of the cupboard to make coffee. We found the service a bit disappointing for the price level- asked for milk when we arrived but never it came, ordered a taxi but it did not show up, asked for salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast but the order was forgotten and had to be retaken after the rest of the table had finished . There were two mistakes with the bill which I found at check out and one more that they found later and have reimbursed.
The location was very convenient and the beds are comfortable. The food was good- not great and the wine is priced too high for the level of quality. One rose we ordered was amazingly bad and over priced.

Room Tip: room 1 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank istanbulhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 727 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in Room 26 on the night of October 21 2012. The room is on the first floor immediately above the bar and reception, facing over the terrace and the Banbury Rd.

Staff and welcome:
Service was correct but a little rushed; the hotel, bar and restaurant were completely full during the evening of our stay and everyone evidently had a lot to do (it seemed to be graduation weekend, so a lot of relatives were in town). We already knew the city and only stayed one night, so didn't need any special help from the staff.

Hotel building and room:
The hotel is in the perfect place for visiting Oxford and very nicely decorated to my taste with period furniture and a delicate colour-scheme; I Iiked the furnishings a lot. My partner was less enthusiastic, describing it as 'shabby chic'. He prefers a more modern look. There's a lovely roof terrace and another very picturesque terrace to the front. Our room was a good size and had a table and a desk with a convenient bank of plug sockets - very useful and not common among similar hotels - and A/C and a handy thermostat control for the heating. There was also a very large chest of drawers, which could be useful for a longer stay. The bed was huge and the bathroom was the size of a proper room, not a cupboard. Everything was very clean and in perfect order.

Less appreciated were the extremely numerous extraneous pillows which we were obliged to throw onto the floor in order to get onto the bed, and which were stuffed behind the chest of drawers by the person who came to turn down the room, and the ingenious concealment of the safe, hairdryer, tea service and minibar in an alcove within the wardrobe (the minibar was on the floor inside the alcove inside the wardrobe, and in order to access it or to remove the tea service from the wardrobe, one had actually to climb inside the wardrobe - an ungainly manoeuvre if you had, like a fool, put clothes or bags in there). The bedding was also very heavy and I spent a fairly uncomfortable night alternately sweltering and shivering as I variously put the covers on and off. Bedding's a matter of preference, though; my partner didn't seem to mind. A petty annoyance was the fact that there was no milk in the room; you have to call down for it, and room service will bring precisely the amount needed for two cups of tea. If you have another cup of tea, you have to call down again. I was also annoyed by what seems to be a ubiquitous habit in this grade of hotel; putting only one packet of biscuits in the tea service of a double room. There are two biscuits in it, which is nice if you love sharing but less so if you feel hungry.

The noise in that part of the hotel is atrocious; the windows have secondary glazing but this doesn't keep out the sound of the road and terrace (smoke from the terrace will also come in the windows if you open them).The busy bar and restaurant both produce a lot of noise until late, as does clearing these after service at night, and the floors and doors all creak loudly as people move around the old building. Indeed our room itself made a fair amount of noise from floorboards and anything on hinges. Neither of us slept very well because of that, but it's inevitable in an ancient building like this one.

The unfortunate layout of the building is also apparent in the bar; lack of space meant we were seated right next to the front door, which blasted us with cold air occasionally. This door is also used by staff to remove rubbish etc, which isn't ideal for patrons.

Food and drink:
We had a Negroni, glasses of Champagne and some olives and almonds in the bar. The quality was great. We ordered bar snacks twice; the second time we only got half as much. Perhaps they thought we were greedy? OJ from the bar was from concentrate.

We also had breakfast in the morning, and contrary to other opinions given here, we both found the food excellent. I ate from the buffet table, which had a very beautiful, fresh and diverse selection of pastries, cereal, fresh and stewed fruit, nuts etc. Lovely. My partner had eggs and bacon too and was very well satisfied. Breakfast is not included; dishes are about £13-16, which is shocking, but normal for this type of hotel.

If it weren't for the noise, I'd have given a much higher rating, and I still think the Old Parsonage is a good hotel. I probably won't stay there again though, because I really like a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Room 26 is nice-looking and comfortable but very, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FloreatMagdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night on a whim en route home from Wales. The (free) parking was a plus, although larger cars need some careful maneuvering. Our (superior) room was comfortable and quiet (bearing in mind the location). The super king sized bed helped us to sleep well. We found the staff very helpful and enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast in the hotel. The free wireless network was useful. It was great to be able to walk around the city centre (bikes seemed to be on offer as well).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

On golfing trip with friends and we decided to stop for a night in this great college town.

Old Parsonage perfect for getting around Oxford. Staff very nice at check in and helpful with questions about town and pubs etc. However, room was very small ( could barely get around bed and mini bar in closet leaving little room for hangups ). The bath shower control hard to navigate as you climb over/around toilet. Food was average at best but we ate by the fire at dinner and that was nice.

Generally, felt the place was overpriced, but location trumps in this case so will give "very good" rating.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank TommyLongboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Room was very nice and quiet. The staff was very accomodating and the location was exceptional. My husband enjoyed the walking tour offered by the hotel. However, the food was overpriced and dreadful. A steak sandwich that was ordered medium rare had to be redone twice and was so tough it was inedible. Breakfast buffet definitely not worth the money. By all means spend the money to stay there, but some wonderful restaurants are minutes away.

Room Tip: Room 1 is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H4CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsonage, General Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall however we are deeply disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant and that you felt our breakfast buffet not value for money. We are so sorry that we failed to cook the steak to your liking on this occasion and that your meal was ruined as a result of this. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and sincerely hope that you’ll choose to give our restaurant another try on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was delighted to spend two nights at this quaint hotel in Oxford. It is within walking distance of the city centre. The accommodation is excellent. The lobby and meals area have an excellent atmosphere. I doubt if anyone staying as a guest will not feel at home straightaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjiv101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel, within a very easy walk of the centre of Oxford just at the end of St Giles. It is in a stunning old building with an attractive garden/courtyard to sit out in. We had the last room on the weekend we stayed and it was the junior suite in the old wing which was perfect, beautifully decorated and furnished and the heating was on which we appreciated (mid September). We couldn't work out how the coffee maker worked and we missed breakfast and had dinner elsewhere so can't comment on the food but the service was good in all areas we experienced.
We preferred The Old Parsonage Hotel to The Bank which is the sister and better known hotel in the middle of town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the hotel which I suspect has more character than the newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
726 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: $248 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing