We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I have stayed here several times in different rooms usually with my dogs who are made welcome with baskets and food. For this reason I prefer the downstairs rooms (7 or 8?) which have a small outside terrace and face into a courtyard. The rooms are very small but comfortable and quiet. Good beds and quality sheets. Having said that there is a room on the top floor which is much bigger but quite a climb. Only once had a bad room (on the middle floor) with a very loud air con unit outside the window. The hotel is right in the middle of Oxford and walking distance to everything. They even have a couple of bikes to borrow if you want. Bar/restaurant is great with a fire burning all year and a good value set lunch menu. Pleasant patio for summer days. Parking is limited so if you get a space hang onto it! A really nice place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: If there were two of you with lots of luggage some of the rooms would be quite tight. Overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeriesIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    188
    53
    23
    10
See reviews for
142
327
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The old parsonage combines a beautiful 1600's building with class and modernity that dont detract from the charm of the place. Great location in a good part of the city and a vibrant vibe with lots of people frequenting the terrace during summer for lunch and high tea.

if the weather is good this is a great place to stay. really fantastic food and lovely setting. Rooms on the very small side unless they have availability for the larger ones..they seem to be quite busy over summer! the size and qualkity of the room we had were not worth the GBP200 per night price tag though - there is however, limited parking for hotel guests available - which is rare and a great bonus if you have a rental car.

overall a lovely place with lots and lots of character and attentive service - we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay and if we ever travel back to Oxford this will be on our itinerary. Even if you dont stay at the hotel - a visit to the terrace is worthwhile (during summer).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdanaSchul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Lovely location at the top of St Giles within 5 minutes of the city centre shops, colleges, university parks and the river Cherwell.

Service was good although we had to query the room rate having booked using the the summer in Oxford deal.

Room was small but well-equipped with a nice enclosed terrace.

Breakfast was excellent but certainly not cheap at £16 per person. We were grateful it was included in our deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My daughter and I spent three nights at the Old Parsonage in October last year. We shared a standard twin bed room (room 18) and were really happy with the size and quality of the room. There was wonderful coffee supplied and fresh milk, instead of long life. The twin beds were large and extremely comfortable. There was also a couch and interesting art work on the walls. Internet was free and accessed via cable (provided) and very reliable. The bathroom was a comfortable size and very clean.

The location of the hotel was very good, it was only a five minute walk from the centre of Oxford and surrounded by restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

We ate breakfast each morning at the hotel as we didn’t have the time to go wandering to find alternatives, but it really wasn’t good value for money and I am sure better breakfasts would be available for much less money close by. We ate dinner at the hotel’s restaurant Gee’s one evening. The meal and jazz was very good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. My only disappointment was being asked which newspaper I wanted each morning and then finding we were charged for it on our bill. Although only a small amount of money, this was quite an expensive hotel and there was no mention of needing to pay for the paper. I just assumed it was complimentary as it usually is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just spent 2 nights at the hotel and we were impressed with the helpful and courteous staff.
Everyone from front of house, restaurant staff and room cleaners were very pleasant.
We had a ground floor room looking out to the garden. It was a quiet and a pleasant room.
I booked directly with the hotel and took their dinning offer which included breakfast and £50 towards our evening meal.
We ate at Gee's their local restaurant and enjoyed a jazz evening.
Food was very good at Gee's and the hotel, if a little pricey. Vegetables are extra.
Parking is restricted but we were lucky and managed a space at the hotel.
You can walk into Oxford centre easily from the hotel.
We would avoid early Sept as there was a large fair sited just outside the hotel which made if difficult to access the hotel when we arrived.You have to walk through this very large fair to get into the town. It operated from morning to 11pm with loud music. The fair is only present for 2 days each year and I would recommend you avoid your stay at this time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crumbleholme96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It is always a pleasure to check in at the Old Parsonage. . The staff are most welcoming, the rooms are comfortable, although on the small side, and the restaurant and bar are first rate. .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the Old Parsonage over the August bank holiday weekend.
The hotel is centrally located, and convenient for strolling around visiting colleges, museums, shops etc.
Our room was quite small, but nicely appointed, and very clean.
The staff are welcoming and efficient.
One slight drawback was the noise level of the air-con unit in our room. It was quite loud, and did disturb our sleep somewhat.
Otherwise, it's a very nice place to stay, and we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldParsonage, General Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found your room very clean and all staff friendly. Sorry about the noise from the air-con, please let us know next time you come to stay and we will allocate you in a different room. I look forward to seeing you back at the Old Parsonage.

Best Regards
Deniz Bostanci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing