We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see on your itinerary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.21*
and up
Mad Hatter's Alice In Wonderland Walking Tour in Oxford with Christ Church...
Ranked #10 of 174 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must see on your itinerary”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Walk the meadow, see the dining hall (Harry Potter anyone?) and visit the grounds. It's one of the most grand colleges, and is a must of any visit to Ox.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HMason22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    441
    126
    47
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Check Out The Mad Hatter's Tea Party”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

6 times a year, Christ Church College hosts a Mad Hatter's Tea Party that seats 30 people at high table in the Hall. Do it if you can, the food's good, the tea plentiful, the Alice In Wonderland motif brilliant, and really, how else will you ever get to sit at high table & make like Dumbledore et al? Popular entertainment aside, the incredible architecture & lovely spires just exude age, scholarship, & yes, entitlement. Lovely.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Took a large group of international students to Christ Church and they were all very happy! You are allowed to walk around nearly all of it and the volunteer staff are dressed up and very lovely! I am taking another group in May :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture, no audioguides, poor descriptions....Overpriced as usual.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have to say that the £ 7 here are much better spent than the £ 6 for the Magdalene College. At least in this college you actually get to enter the Hall and walk around in it. I have to admit that it is grand, beautiful and rich in decorations and paintings. The Cathedral is also very interesting and the overall structure of the complex is quite impressive and elegant, but as for the parts you can actually see that's it. The visit is over. You can spend a few minutes enjoying the view of the exterior from the courtyard but there is nothing else to see. No audio-guide included in the modestly priced admission, a poor leaflet with very little information about the history of the place is all you get. I wouldn't want to sound nasty but I start wondering if in Britain someone believes that no other country has any historic or cultural sites. I say that because the gap between the price of the average admission ticket for most monuments in Britain and in pretty much every other country I've ever been to is exaggerated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Unemigrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A must for Harry Potter and Lewis Carole fans”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I took a young Ausy traveller for her visit around Oxford in December - following a cold and wet open top bus tour around the city (which we would recommend even in the rain!) - the warmth if the great hall soon thawed us out!
The Christmas tree in the great hall was magnificent and charmingly decorated with all that is Alice! Look for rabbit in the stained glass window and portraits of the famous alumni.
Explore all aspects the whole college was fascinating - the cathedral is charming
Worth the entrance fee and the amusement of being mistaken for interviewees on arrival!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank YogiOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing