We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular college” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.56*
and up
Mad Hatter's Alice In Wonderland Walking Tour in Oxford with Christ Church...
Ranked #10 of 172 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular college”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Christ Church is something a little out of the ordinary, even for Oxford. The main Tom quad in particular is a bit breath taking in my opinion. The dining hall has a scale that other colleges don't match.

I was recently with a school group, and the bowler-hatted custodian gave an extremely interesting tour (which due to our fault, not hers, was shorter than I would have liked!). However if for some reason you get a chance to eat in hall, don't get your hopes up too much (I've had some good experiences, some not so good).

Whether you want to join the sometimes rather lengthy queue and pay quite a lot of money is another matter though!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank G94J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    434
    122
    44
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stunning wedding venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were at the cathedral for a family wedding and it was stunning. Well worth a second visit.
the quad is spectacular and the architecture breath-taking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful, make sure you visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

There are many different rooms you pass through when you are visiting, all steeped in history and all beautiful.

We came with my disabled mother, accidently coming in the main entrance instead of the disabled entrance. As she can walk with the help of a 'walker' we decided to continue instead of back tracking to the other entrance.

If the weather is nice it is worth taking a walk around the garden, sadly when we went it was raining and we didn't want to walk around in the wet.

The cathedral is amazing and when the choir started singing the whole room seemed to stop and listen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Oh, those Movie people!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We traveled to Oxford for the day from London, and unfortunately, could not get in to see the Great Hall because filming for a movie was going on! You could still see the church and the gallery, but for 6 pounds instead of 7 or 8 pounds. I didn't look into this before, but I wondered if there is a "day pass" for Oxford, since all the colleges charge you money for touring them. The boudleian library was 16 pounds to tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“porterhouse blue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A must see.
Very impressive buildings. The cloisters and the 'cathedral' were special. They were interviewing for a new music master / organist during our visit and so the organ was being played a lot of the time. I enjoyed that, but the helpers at the entrance were a bit fed up with the loudness.

The dining room was like a film set - oh, it was a film set once!. Look out for David Jason's brother in his Porterhouse Blue uniform - he kept having to shoo the Japanese tourists who clogged up the route taking ages to each have their pictures taken in this room. However he was quite charming, really, and helpful (taking photos of Japanese tourists who weren't clogging 'his' room.

We went back for the advertised evensong at 6pm only to find it is only on during the term time. Then we sprinted round to New College for their advertised evensong only to find the same.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing