We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - Full of Tradition and History”

University of Oxford
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.09*
and up
Private Oxford Walking Tour
More Info
$33.03*
and up
'Inspector Morse' Filming Locations Tour in Oxford with College Visits
More Info
$118.91*
and up
Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle Day Trip from London
Ranked #5 of 181 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Starting as early as 1096 with some form of teaching, Oxford is the oldest English-speaking university in the world.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome - Full of Tradition and History”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I can think of nothing but praise ofr the tour of the colleges. Loved every second of it and the tour guide was brilliant. I went to university but Oxford was out of my league. How very lucky are those that gain entry and I'm sure they make the most of it. A truly memorable experience and worth every penny.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    301
    38
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The beating heart of Oxford”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The City of Oxford is home to the University so it is difficult to separate the two. We spend four days in Oxford exploring the colleges and the city. During our stay, we attended Evensong at a couple of the colleges. This is an experience not to be missed if you like listening to church music. There is plenty to see and do in Oxford, but the colleges of the university are the beating heart.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cappacino_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The awesome colleges of Oxford; magnificent! A wealth of history and tradition parcelled up in beautiful Cotswold stone. A day is not long enough to really appreciate this unique British city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliebpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Could be far better”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food was good, but nothing special, the service could be better, more organised would help, friendly enough though, will try to get back in the summer for the beer gardens and pleasant surroundings

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whatyadoinsucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So much history”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I wish we had stayed the night, 5hrs just was not enough time. Very easy to walk around and tourist place very helpful. So much history there and just amazing to see the buildings. A must see!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank waltdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Oxford also viewed

 

Been to University of Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing