We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Willow Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$269
$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$397
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
$102
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
74
20
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
20
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomcharming housepark and ridekatrinabedroom
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 105 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as we were visiting Le Manoir for lunch and wanted somewhere near so we could enjoy the whole experience. It is nestled away in rural Oxfordshire down a country lane.There is ample space to park your car off the road.The property is a lovely 17th Century thatched cottage with a brook running alongside it with a beautiful garden.There is a separate entrance for guests. It has a large sitting/dining room and access to the bedrooms is up some lovely original wooden stairs. Our room had a large, comfortable double bed overlooking the back garden, and a separate sitting area with chairs,TV/DVD player and a plethora of coffee/tea making facilities. There was also a separate shower room with toilet and hand basin.It is all very warm and cosy retaining its old world charm.
The breakfast was excellent - ordered the night before. It included locally sourced ingredients and was perfectly cooked.Lovely ground coffee was served too.
This is a perfect place to stay if you want peace and quiet. The 3 beautiful Labradors are a real treat. They are very welcoming and love fuss.
We cannot recommend this place too highly - it is delightful.
Thank you Katrina for a wonderful stay,making our visit to Le Manoir really special.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely overlooking the garden and countryside.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely weekend, we would normally stay in hotels and found this delightful cottage as we were dinning at Les Manoir and Willow cottage is only 3 miles away, so we thought why not, and I must say Katrina could not have made us feel more welcome, she certainly is the Hostess with the Mostess if your looking for peace and quiet with lots of country inns and walks near by or wanting to treat your dearest to a dinning sensation then this location is perfect and ticks all boxes, hope to see you again Katrina and many thanks .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Markandpenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thank you Katrina for such a lovely night at your beautiful house, it is so pretty and the garden is just beautiful with the stream running through. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed every mouthful I cant praise this place highly enough, it is a short walk to the bat and ball pub and the surrounding village of Denton is picturesque, you are doing a great job and thankyou for your hospitality we will return in the summer as I expect the gardens will be beautiful. Thank you once again for your hospitality and sharing your wonderful house with us. We were visiting the Crazy Bear for an activity day, and recommended willow cottage by my daughter who went to Le Manoir and stayed here and loved it. It is a short drive from either of them and makes the break worthwhile in a romantic and peaceful setting.

Room Tip: We stayed as 2 couples and had both rooms they were both lovely
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodpeckers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Within 3 miles of Le Manoir and certainly more reasonably priced, Willow cottage is a good place to stay when visiting this area. The rooms are comfortable and Katrina goes out of her way to make you feel at home with conversation about her husbands' Baftas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After staying one night at Willow Cottage, I asked Katrina if we could trade lives. Anyone who wants the English experience of staying in a quintessential centuries old thatch cottage in the countryside must stay here. It is on a quiet dead end country road across from a home that was used in a Midsomer Murders episode. Their dogs are adorable, her son is absolutely charming and everything is done right. She asks cash only but will direct you to a local outside ATM in a village a few miles away. The nearby village is nice but seemingly not much to offer for tourist interest. The downside is that it is difficult to find, however, I asked at the local village and everyone was friendly, knew Katrina and directed me straight to her home. It is in the countryside so you must drive to dinner. However, Oxford is so close that we were able to drive to the Trout Inn. I stayed in the bedroom above the breakfast room (recent photos show this room) which had ensuite shower and timber and lath above the bed...complete charm. It was extremely quiet even with the window open. Typical of English b&bs, the beds are very firm. The garden is private, surrounded by countryside, complete with a small stream. The breakfast was delicious and made to order. We were there in early September.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceiligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews