We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Near Oxford”
Review of Willow Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Cottage
Ranked #34 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend & I recently had the pleasure of staying with Katrina at Willow Cottage. We had a brilliant time. We each had our own en suite room and a wonderful breakfast room to share. The rooms were so charming, clean and comfortable. The beds were so comfortable that it was easy to get a good night's sleep after a day of running around the countryside. Katrina is so delightful and we enjoyed talking with her. We came over from the USA and Willow Cottage was a first stop. Katrina made us feel right at home and we found Willow Cottage & Katrina to be the perfect introduction to the UK. The other treat for us was Katrina's lovely dogs Granny, Darcy and Zebbie. They were such a balm for me since I left my two dogs at home in the states. Zebbie in particular was such a joy for me. Willow Cottage, Katrina and her three lovely dogs are just perfection near Oxford.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Willow Cottage for our anniversary, and had a wonderful time – the perfect romantic treat! We found the chocolate-box cottage absolutely idyllic, made all the more stunning by both the glorious weather and the beautiful daffodils. Our room was very lovely, with pretty pictures on the walls, and beams galore. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, with crisp, white bed-linen, which is always a joy. The shower too was marvellous. Katrina has clearly put a lot of thought into making the rooms extra-special, and we were particularly delighted by the wine-glasses and corkscrew left for us.
We found Katrina to be the perfect host – very warm and friendly, treating us like friends rather than customers. She was particularly obliging about our arrival time – because we had an early lunch booking at the Manoir, we asked if we could arrive at about eleven in the morning, and Katrina went out of her way to ensure that the room was ready for us by then. At breakfast the following morning she was charming, and we chatted for a good while about the Baftas and pictures in the dining room, as well as about her stunning Labradors. Living in London we aren’t able to keep a dog, so it was a pleasure to come and stay somewhere with such friendly ones! Breakfast itself was delicious – I had the full English, and my partner smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Willow Cottage - thank you Katrina – we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this lovely B & B, it is in an ideal location for visiting Oxford and for spending an evening at The Manoir. Katrina welcomed us warmly and we had a good choice of breakfast---the hot chocolate was delicious! Our bed was lovely and comfortable and everything we wanted was available,there is also a good pub within walking distance. Thank you Katrina for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This cottage is in a beautiful location. Our room was cold, but Katrina did offer to turn heating on, which we took up later in the evening after returning from our meal at The Bat & Ball. On arrival we were told in no uncertain terms that Katrina would not cook sausages for a 7:30am breakfast (we needed this as I was on la manior cookery school with early start), which left us speechless! We were so taken aback by this that we couldn't even comment. The next morning, sure enough my wife was presented with one rasher of bacon and a few mushrooms (she doesn't like eggs), I was lucky, two rashers, poached egg & few mushrooms. At £80 for the night, this meagre breakfast and such treatment of paying guests is disgraceful. Dogs in breakfast room whilst we ate was not to our liking either, nor the dog hairs on towels and bedding. On reelection, paying a tiny bit extra for a room at The Bat & Ball where we had a fantastic evening meal, would've been money well spent. If you don't mind dog hairs and don't need 7:30 breakfasts or don't like sausages, pay Katrina a visit.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Nickandshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilham, Manager at Willow Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

I am sorry to see that Willow Cottage fell short of your expectations when you stayed here. We do our utmost to make all our guests feel like friends and we always do what we can to meet their needs. It is a shame you did not let us know of your concerns at the time of your stay, because all I can now do is to try to answer your points here:

Keeping a comfortable heat at this time of the year (spring) is often fraught because of wildly fluctuating temperatures. During the week of your stay, the weather ran the gamut through hot, cold and borderline. When the temperature is borderline, as it was in your case, we ask guests for their heating preferences and act accordingly. We also provide electric heaters in case they are wanted.

With regards to your breakfast disappointment: as with many other B&Bs, we generally serve cooked breakfast between 8am and 9.30am, and outside these hours we offer a continental breakfast. Whatever the time, we provide as much fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea and coffee as is required. When you stayed with us we did our best to meet your request for a cooked breakfast at 7.30am. As well as the continental breakfast, we did offer you a choice of bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms or smoked salmon. I am sorry that you felt that this was not sufficient and the lack of sausage caused distress.

I am afraid that I cannot come up with a satisfactory answer to the issue of dog hairs on the towels and bedding. The dogs do not and cannot access the guests’ bedrooms or bathrooms. By the time your review was posted, the bedding and towels had long since been laundered. However I did immediately check all the bedding, towels and flannels and did not find dog hairs.

We always tread a fine line with the dogs. We make it clear on our website and other advertising that we have three Labradors. We do this in order to ensure that any potential guest is absolutely aware, before they book, that there are dogs on the premises. The majority of our guests like dogs; indeed many guests choose to stay with us because of the dogs, and some actively request that the dogs are present when they are using the dining/sitting room. As I am sure you can appreciate, it is difficult for a dog to understand when it is welcome and when it is not. We are always conscious that some guests may not enjoy the company of the dogs, particularly at breakfast time, and we therefore attempt to prevent them from entering the dining room unless they are specifically asked for. However, on occasions the dogs do slip in and, if unwanted, we swiftly remove them.

I do so hope your experience here did not detract from your enjoyment of the cookery course you attended at Le Manoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Willow Cottage for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend.
We parked at Thorn Hill Park and ride during the day and travelled into oxford city centre. Parking is free upto 11 hours and the bus which runs regularly ( no 400) is £4.50 return for 2 adults and takes around 15 mins. Apprantley the car park can get very busy during the week. The park and ride is around 15 mins from Willow House, the sat nav took us around half way down the country lane, if this happens just carry on for around 400 yards, willow cottage is on your right.
Beautiful surroundings, welcoming host. Bedroom took a while to warm up, but was eventually ok, breakfast was okish.Great plave to stay if you want that country experience, otherwise may be more convient to stay closer to oxford.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent the night at Willow Cottage last week as we were having dinner at Le Manoir to celebrate a special birthday. Katrina is a great host and the house is delightful. Bed great, breakfast excellent (eggs from Katrina's hens) and dogs very friendly. The location is superb with country views and a beautiful garden. Unfortunately the weather was awful, but we could hardly blame Katrina for that. It's incredibly quiet too. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Each bedroom has its own sitting room and the rooms are not adjoining so it's very quiet. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered. Warm welcome, nice cosy bedroom with lots of books, TV ad drinks etc to keep you entertained. Comfy bed followed by yummy breakfast with congenial company. What could be better! Thank you Katrina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humtemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0 mi away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Marston
56 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sabine Barn B&B
Sabine Barn B&B
#6 of 85 in Oxford
147 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heather House
Heather House
#7 of 85 in Oxford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Gables Guest House
Gables Guest House
#13 of 85 in Oxford
183 reviews
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Cottage

Address: Denton, Oxford OX44 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Willow Cottage Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing