We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome on a winter's day!”
Review of Willow Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Cottage
Ranked #30 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
East Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome on a winter's day!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered. Warm welcome, nice cosy bedroom with lots of books, TV ad drinks etc to keep you entertained. Comfy bed followed by yummy breakfast with congenial company. What could be better! Thank you Katrina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humtemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
71
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as we're enjoying lunch at Le Manoir about 3 miles away. We found the cottage easy to find and on arrival we were greeted by the friendly owner and her 3 dogs who are all lovely.

The cottage has 2 bedrooms to let. We found ours very quaint and just what we needed for a one night sta. it was quite cold when we first got there but we turned l the radiator gauge and that seemed to sort the problem. The room has a tv,DVD player with selection of DVDs, lovely bed, ensure bathroom with shower and tea facilities.

In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Full English along with fresh fruit, yogurts, toast and cereals.

The owner was so kind and took us to Le Manoir in her own car and we got a taxi back. A taxi cost us £12 I think it was.

Only two improvements I could suggest:

1 fresh milk instead of UHT
2. The tv is located no where near the bed and to watch the tv comfortably we had to pull it across the room and place it On a chair, as far as the aerial would reach.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mooeyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Got a chance to spend two nights at the Willow Cottage and was extremely pleased with everything. Could not say enough good things about this place ..... good breakfast, great accommodation and even better host. The home is beautiful and in a great spot for getting around the area, right outside Oxford. Would definitely recommend and will always be my first choice if ever in the area again. 110%

mattdawson586@gmail.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Willow cottage and found it clean and comfortable. Excellent value. It's a few miles out of town, so best if you have a car. The scenery is majestic though and well worth the drive to a local park and ride to get into Oxford, which takes about 30 mins door to door. Katrina was very pleasant and helpful and the dogs were very sweet and well behaved. Recommended if you're looking for a semi-rural and town experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although the country roads and very dark night made it quite a challenge to find Willow Cottage B&B, kind folks in a neighbouring village pub helped direct us to Cuddesdon, where our hostess Katrina came to collect us at the local The Bat & Ball Pub. Her lovely thatched cottage was just around the corner - actually quite easy to find in the light of day! It is a charming house, with worn, aged doors, a small staircase, beams and timbers - a home that is warm, welcoming and steeped in history. We had a wonderful, relaxing two-night stay in a delightful room that overlooked the extensive garden and pastures beyond. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to perfection each morning in a cozy dining room – we especially enjoyed the delicious sausage! Joining us were the three friendly, but well-behaved retrievers who were permitted into the room because we are dog-lovers who wanted their company!
While Denton is a tiny country village, it is located just outside of Oxford. Katrina lent us her map, directed us to a convenient “park and ride” location on the outskirts where we easily and happily took the shuttle bus into Oxford for a lovely day that included visits to the amazing Ashmolean Museum as well as the Pitts River Museum. There is so much to see and do in Oxford, one could easily spend several days exploring this fascinating place. We could think of no better home base than Willow Cottage B&B for a visit to Oxford and the surrounding countryside. An additional bonus is The Bat & Ball Pub, where we enjoyed the warm pub atmosphere along with delicious food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

With apologies to Katrina, our entertaining and charming host at Willow Cottage, for the delay in getting this review onto Tripadvisor - words don't seem sufficient to praise this little gem of a retreat! Katrina really has done everything to preserve the charm of this gorgeous 17th Century thatched cottage.
The room we chose had a small sitting room off which added to the feeling of luxury and excellent value for money. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and you really had the feeling of eating with friends; such a welcoming atmosphere. And well done to Katrina who we understand is relatively new to the business.
The location is one of perfect rural bliss and tranquility. There is a really nice pub in the the village with excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff - particularly good if your budget doesn't stretch to Le Manoir.
We can't wait to go back - though with such a positive review, we wonder if we've scuppered our choice for availability!

Room Tip: When booking, check with Katrina for any restricted headroom issues, if you're on the tall side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy-Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I just had the pleasure of staying at Willow for 3 nights.
Katrina (the owner) very sweetly picked me up from the Park and Ride station in Thornhill (I did not have a car)
The cottage is in rural Denton Village, so maybe it would be better for those with cars although I found it no problem to walk into the nearby village of Garsington to pick up the bus into Oxford (20-25 min walk in lovely countryside)
Driving up to the cottage , I was introduced to the lovely Labrador dogs (one with a bowl in her mouth! :). You do not have to be a dog lover to fall in love with them and I certainly did during my stay
Katrina showed me through the 17th Century cottage (full of period details)
As some have noted, you do have to watch your head if you are tall , going up and down stairs :)
The bedroom was spotless with lovely furniture and artwork (and VERY comfortable bed). There was a well-stocked tea and coffee tray (restocked daily) that was a relief to have coming in from a long day in the city Excellent modern TV and quality books and DVDs were also on hand (I actually watched the British premiere of Downton Abbey , months ahead of other Americans!!)
There was good choice with breakfast with fruit, fresh OJ, and plenty of tea I chose the full English and was not disappointed. It definitely kept me going throughout the day till long after what would be considered "lunch time"
The Garden is a gem and the even the lovely pictures don't do it justice. I had many long walks around it and beyond in the area
I commend Katrina for the lovely balance she maintained between being anxious to give her guests the best experience possible and letting them have their "own time". To accomplish this is a very rare quality. One that she has and I was appreciative of it
5 stars! I would probably come back with a car but I will definitely come back and will recommend the B & B to my friends and relatives (some of whom are planning UK trips in the next couple of years)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bripat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
9.8 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
3.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Hedges
High Hedges
#37 of 82 in Oxford
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lane House B&B
Lane House B&B
#1 of 1 in Farmoor
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 82 in Oxford
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Guest House
Gables Guest House
#13 of 82 in Oxford
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Cottage

Property: Willow Cottage
Address: Denton, Oxford OX44 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Willow Cottage Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing