We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Uncomfortable Oxford Tours
from $129.97
More Info
from $21.01
More Info
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
40
2
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
40
2
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide objects university history museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I were invited on this tour by my brother who lives in Oxford. We’d been on a more traditional walking tour of Oxford the day before and had some insight on parts of the city and colleges. With Uncomfortable Oxford, our tour guide brought us around the city, educating us on the more hidden parts of the colleges. The history of sexism, classism, racism, and how money plays into it all. If you’re aware of social justice and the lack of equality in places like Oxford, you will love this tour. If you’re not aware of it, you must reserve a tour while in Oxford.

Thank you for an incredibly educational, eye opening, and sometimes uncomfortable tour of the true Oxford.

Thank scoutf2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncomfortable O, Public Relations Manager at Uncomfortable Oxford Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words and detailed review!

What a pleasure it was to have you and your family on the tour :)
It's great that you got to experience a variety of tours in the city and saw what makes our own one so unique.
Thanks for highlighting some of the social topics we cover too and for recommending it to all!

We really look forward to seeing you again on our future tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with a friend who was reviewing the tour for The Oxford Student. Oxford has a very rich, and often very dark or 'uncomfortable' history and it's so important this history isnt forgotten. If you really want to know what Oxford is like behind its shiny facades this tour is a must. And it is these issues a lot of Oxford students grapple with daily. We were told about Oriel's Rhodes statue and the student protests surrounding it; the Oxford Union and its history of hosting controversial speakers, as well as many other sites. I think more could have been said about the Union (such as that a Herr Hitler was invited in the 1930s) but otherwise the tour was informative and I learnt a lot, even for an Oxford student! The tour guides were helpful and engaged with the group well. And the group size wasnt too big. This is a wonderful initiative to support so I would definitely recommend it!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank JayDStaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncomfortable O, Public Relations Manager at Uncomfortable Oxford Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much your kind words and detailed review Jay!

It was a pleasure to have you and your friend from the Oxford Student on the tour.
This is exactly what we set out to do, engaging with and discussing Oxford's controversial and forgotten histories :)
Thanks for the feedback as well, to include more content. It's great to know participants on the tour would be happy to learn more!
We really look forward to seeing you again on our future tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to the Uncomfortable Oxford tour of the Ashmolean which was brilliant, very engaging and learnt so much but felt very fun. Saw a whole new side to the museum! Guide was brilliant!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 560leahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncomfortable O, Public Relations Manager at Uncomfortable Oxford Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed the experience :) We look forward to seeing you again on one of our future tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I would highly recommend the tour, which gives an insight into important aspects of Oxford's history that are often not discussed. The guide was well-informed and very engaging, and the focus on discussion was refreshing (and much less uncomfortable than it might have been!).

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank lima421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncomfortable O, Public Relations Manager at Uncomfortable Oxford Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much, Lima421, for your review. We're glad you found the discussion approach refreshing :) We hope to see you again on one of our future tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Excellent. Really enjoyed the tour and opened our eyes (despite having lived in the city for many years) to some of Oxford's history that is not usually discussed or brought into the open. Well-delivered and facilitated by our guide and loved the approach that enabled discussion of differing views with other participants. A social enterprise worth supporting whether you live in the city or are just visiting.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncomfortable O, Public Relations Manager at Uncomfortable Oxford Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks, Mark, for your kind words! We're very glad that you learned about the city despite being locals.
What a pleasure it was to have you on this tour :)

Looking forward to seeing you again on one of our future tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews