We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good commentary and great venues”

Oxford Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
1.5-hour Oxford University and Colleges Walking Tour
Ranked #9 of 46 Tours in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Walking Tours have been operating from the blue gates of Trinity College in Broad St for over 27 years. Tours go inside the Colleges including where Harry Potter was filmed. There is no need to pre-book, just turn up before the hour and pay the guide before or after the tour. Price includes all entry fees to Colleges. We also operate year round evening ghost tours and private/group tours anytime.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had family over from Oz, so thought we'd show them some local sights / history. Our guide was Wiliam and he was great. A bit dry for a young chap, but certainly knew his onions! We went to Exeter, St Johns, New colleges...and a few others. Plus we saw a few of the other sights around and about too. You have to say that a guided tour makes something come to life. We barely scratched the surface of Oxford yet we were surrounded with superb facts, figures and historical events & people. Alongside the open top bus tour, this is a must! Very much enjoyed. For the price, I thought this was well worth it.

1  Thank OXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

699 - 703 of 840 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited Oxford in April and felt a walking tour was the right thing for three adults to do. We were not mistaken! Our tour guide William was very knowledgable about all aspects of the city. We visited beautiful colleges and actually were fortunate enough to arrive at one as they were getting the chapel ready for a wedding. It looked incredible.
William answered all of our questions mostly before we could ask them and my brother-in-law could not find a question William couldn't answer, but he did try! We were very impressed and will definitely go again if we find ourselves back in Oxford.
I highly recommend this tour company.

Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went on the tour at 12- worth mentioning it may be better to do a later one as many of the colleges (especially free ones) only open at 2pm. The tour lasts and hour and a half and goes around a mainly pedestrian part of Oxford.

Stuart is a great source of local knowledge, stories and the tour is an excellent introduction to Oxford. We went around 2 colleges in great detail and popped our heads into a couple of others just for a brief look, as well as being introduced to (but not going in) various other sites such as the Library, science museum, etc.

1  Thank JoeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went on the Oxford Walking Tour operating from the blue gates of Trinity College on Broad St.
I was expecting the college tour to include several colleges based on what I read online.
It only included New college which is very impressive and Lincoln college (small college with very little to see).
The guide was very knowledgeable and informative but in 1.5 hours he could have covered more.

2  Thank AVFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

As I had already been on several Official Tours with friends and family, when yet another friend was visiting, I decided to take an Oxford Walking Tour instead to have some variation and maybe learn something new. BIG MISTAKE! For a few lousy pounds less, the quality of this tour does not come anywhere near the Official Tours.

Our guide was completely disinterested in his own story. His whole attitude screamed out he'd rather be miles away and have a coffee: he dragged his feet, spoke without intonation, gave the minimum amount of information possible, ... The amount of information he gave and the number of topics he covered, was very low and came nowhere near the information given by the Official tour guides.

Even worse, I had the impression he was intentionally sabotaging the tour, by avoiding entry to the most interesting places - where he would have had to pay the entrance fee that was supposed to be included in the tour price. We saw three colleges from the outside, but not one from the inside - either we could not enter because of maintenance works, or we had arrived just 5 minutes after closing time. Don't tell me a professional guide does not know which colleges have works going on and what their opening times are, and does not know how to select the colleges and organise his tour so he can actually enter the colleges during opening hours!

At the end of the tour, he left us at the Radcliffe Camera, and said we could enter there with a discount if we mentioned his name. Only problem - he had dropped us of after the last entry time.

The only time he was genuinely interested in one of the group members, was when he noticed the old-fashioned camera this group member was using, and wanted to know all technical specifications of it. The conversation took ages, with the whole group waiting in front of a college, and the group member with the camera was visibly embarassed because the whole group was held up so long, but the guide just kept on asking questions.

The guide also interrupted the tour several times to chat to acquaintances he passed on the streets, and left the whole group waiting for him.

This tour was a complete waste of money, and I felt really embarassed towards my friend for having chosen this tour above the Official Tour.

It is true this tour is a bit cheaper than the Official Tours, but it comes nowhere near the quality the Official Tours offer !

5  Thank LisaB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordwalkingtours, Owner at Oxford Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

This review is not a review of my tour company Oxford Walking Tours, and the reviewer did not pay for or go on one of our tours.

1) The reviewer said she paid less than the Official Tours which are £8. Tours with Oxford Walking Tours are £9.50, as clearly stated on our website and all of our promotional material.

2) The tour reviewed did not go into any of the colleges and ALL of our tours go inside colleges, which is something that sets us apart.

3) There are other tour guides that stand outside the Information Centre where the Official Tours depart from that call themselves, amongst other names, Oxford Walking Tours and they take people on tours for basically whatever people will pay. They are not established businesses or guides as we or the Official tours are.

If anyone were to look at our website or our other reviews you'll see how incongruous this review is with our business and our manner of conducting tours. The bottom line is that this reviewer did NOT go on one of our tours and it is not about Oxford Walking tours.
Stuart Holloway, owner Oxford Walking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Walking Tours also viewed


Been to Oxford Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing