We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to learn and get your questions answered”

Oxford Walking Tours
Ranked #7 of 46 Tours in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Walking Tours have been operating from the blue gates of Trinity College in Broad St for over 27 years. Tours go inside the Colleges including where Harry Potter was filmed. There is no need to pre-book, just turn up before the hour and pay the guide before or after the tour. Price includes all entry fees to Colleges. We also operate year round evening ghost tours and private/group tours anytime.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
337 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good way to learn and get your questions answered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stuart was our guide, a local resident & Oxford graduate. He had a lot of insight, knowledge, and stories. -- Hint: Best time to go is in the afternoon since many colleges only allow visitors to enter their premises after 2 pm. -- worth the GBP9.00 to actually learn, see, and understand how the college life works within Oxford.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    117
    31
    19
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Interesting & educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife & I and another couple joined Stuart’s walk at 11.00 am on a Sunday morning and the ‘walk’ lasted for an hour and a half. Stuart (our guide) was easy to hear and his anecdotes kept our attention. We found the walk / talk very interesting and the access we had to certain areas enhanced the overall historical facts that we received during the walk. We were never bored nor did I see anybody checking the time. Along with various educational aspects of Oxford, Stuart also pointed out interesting pubs to visit at a later time. We did visit the Turf Tavern later as it had an odd link to Australia . . . . .
For those who are not as agile as they used to be, there are some stairs to climb, but overall the walk is on the flat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Useful for putting names to places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Oxford Walking Tours are good for learning about Oxford. Entrance to some of the colleges is closed except for entrance by these tours and there are certainly enough tours with different themes to attract many interests. Although the guides were well spoken, as one would expect in Oxford, I thought the quality of information varied.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were delighted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We missed the Oxford tour we wanted that began at the Blackwell bookstore, so we 'settled' for an Oxford walking tour that began right out on the street. (One begins every hour) Our guide was 'Dan.'and we couldn't have asked for a better guide. Not only did we see several colleges and llearned their histories, but the campuses became alive with the anecdotes that Dan shared. We felt lucky that we'd missed 'the' tour and that we discovered Oxford with Dan. The four of us highly recommend Dan and the Oxford Walking Tour. Jeanne, Will, Jack & Donna

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative and engaging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

A great way to explore Oxford particularly the colleges. Stuart provided an engaging and interesting commentary and gave a behind the scenes look that you would not experience had you visited the colleges on your own. The tour of New College was particularly good. Definitely recommend this tour.

Helpful?
Thank Tigerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing