We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of The Standard

The Standard
Ranked #46 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Ripon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing curry house.
Everything tastes so fresh.
Here for a week and I think we will be back many times

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    69
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quality Indian food using local produce”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Exceptional quality food using fresh, local produce. This does not taste like you average Indian menu in the area. Nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff who provide a wonderful service. You do need to book in advance as the restaurant is quite small but this for us is a bonus because you do not get the huge parties that are so often present in other restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josephine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, innovative and exceptional value”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious every time. Fantastic regular menu with exciting and exotic specials which are always excellent.

For takeaway and dining in, the food at The Standard is always tasty and really good value. We've been a number of times and always impressed with the the quality of food and drink on offer. Family-run and friendly, this is not your average Asian restaurant. A recent update has kept the best of tradition and combined it with a fresh approach. This means you have a great selection of classic curries as well as some more modern dishes, and the service is of excellent quality. Staff are always happy to recommend their favourites and have a great knowledge of what is on offer, which is useful if you're as indecisive as me.

I tend to have whatever is on the specials board - so far, this has always meant that I've had a delicious and interesting meal. We just had a takeaway of prawns in coconut spices, and it was quite honestly one of the nicest things I've eaten in a long time.

My number one recommendation for this place is to make sure you try something new: it's always tempting to go with what you're used to when it comes to curry, but I definitely think it's worth asking whoever's serving you for their ideas on what to have. And, one of the great things about this place is that they have a really good drinks list. I can't count how many times I've had a good meal ruined by a rubbish bottle of wine, so it's good to know they've got it all covered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophiePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicate & Delicious”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Without doubt one of the best non-chain restaurants in Oxford. I enjoyed another gorgeous meal there on Saturday night with three friends. The atmosphere, rare Ales and fine food made for a wonderful evening. If you go, you must try the Patia (spicy curry with garlic, coconut, lime and chilli!). Can’t wait for another excuse to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was lovely, its a very small restaurant with 6-7 tables so I can imagine it getting busy very quickly but we went on a Sunday evening it was half full with us and two other tables. Good food not overpriced 15 minute walk from town centre

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiggsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing