We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunchtime bites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear and Ragged Staff

The Bear and Ragged Staff
Ranked #63 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bear and Ragged Staff is a Stunning 450 year old Grade 2* listed building just 4 miles West of Oxford. the current management has been in place now for eight years and have completed a major upgrade of the property. The Pub and Restaurant have been completely renovated, and now serve stunning, largely British food, in stylish surroundings. The nine residential rooms are now open and are receiving great reviews. Rooms feature 32-42" TVs, radio, Kingsized beds, en suite bathroom/showers, WiFi broadband and more. The 5 rooms in the Landlord's Wing ooze Olde Worlde charm. Take a look at our website.
The Valley, Anguilla
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice lunchtime bites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Had seen the Bear by chance when following a diversion because the A420 was closed and decided to give it a try.
We were not disappointed and will definitely be back to sample some other delights off the menu

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    135
    57
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very pleasant indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were recommended to try out this restaurant by a colleague as he knows the chef and we were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome and shown to the table straight away (at our request) and given time to look at the wine menu before making our choice. The wine selection is pretty good and very fair prices - I've seen much more expensive prices in restaurants which were not nearly as nice as this. There was a good selection of starters and main courses and plenty for vegetarians to choose from so we were really happy with the choices. One thing to point out, you have to order potatoes or other side dishes separately if you want these. They offered water for the table without asking which we really liked. There was a really nice atmosphere in there and there were couples as well as groups of people and there was no rush to place your order. Some earlier comments suggested that there were staffing issues but we did not experience any problems with the staff. Two courses and a bottle of wine came to £80 (including a 10% gratuity) and we thought it was worth every penny. Will be going to this restaurant again for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“21st century food in a 16th century Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very reliable for lunch and dinner and if the weather is fine, a good outdoor eating area. The waitresses were solicitous, but not overly; the menu was varied, with daily specials, not overpriced and the wine list was good. The food is not exciting - you get what it says on the tin with no surprises, but it is a good place to take friends or family, knowing you will have a good time. Portions are generous and vegetables seem very fresh. It is nice to know that it functioned during the Civil War and was mentioned by Walter Scott in Kenilworth. The original stone buildings are mostly visible and the place feels solid and warm in winter, breezy in summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyReadingOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great dinner. Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Came to Oxford for the day to visit friends and they suggested we come here for dinner. The food was executed to a high standard and service was equally fantastic. The syrup sponge was possibly one of the best puddings I've ever had, absolutely divine. There was also an extensive wine list. I did not spend the night in Oxford this time but might very well do if I come here again for dinner as they have guest rooms. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone and I look forward to coming back here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j_howes212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick family lunch where we were well looked after.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were driving through Oxford on Saturday looking for somewhere to stop for lunch and saw this pub on a website. So we phoned and booked and arrived 20 minutes later.

This is a big old pub in a tiny village and following its refurbishment a few years ago is really attractive and pleasant inside.

Service was very good and we enjoyed both adult and kids meals which were very well executed.

Good choice of beers and ciders and very helpful on gluten free choices.

Nice garden with swings and slides kept the kids happy too

It's not a local or regular stop for us but much recommended if you are nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NDB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear and Ragged Staff also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Toot Baldon, Oxford
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bear and Ragged Staff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing