We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed”

Mission Burrito - Oxford - Cornmarket
Ranked #272 of 625 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food, Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I have always loved the mission but found it tricky to take my children there as the menu was a bit inflexible however the £1 kids menu and the option of small burritos was a big winner for me on our last visit. Most impressive was being asked if I (vegetarian) would prefer if the man changed his gloves as he had handled chicken! In the past, in other places, when I made that request I was made to feel like a tree-hugging pain, so I was especially impressed by the staff! Keep it up!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“And again excellent”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

When I moved away from Oxford this was one of my must dos when I came on a day trip, now thankfully living back in Oxford and can once again have a burrito when ever I want. Went yesterday for a quick lunch and the carnitas (shredded pork) burrito was as good as ever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Authentic "fat as your face" burritos and good value too!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Mission serves up damned authentic burritos, and as a native of Texas, here I am qualified to say! Very large burritos rolled in pizza-size tortilla, stuffed with rice, choice of beans, choice of meats and garnishes and salsas of different intensities. This is the real thing, as you would find it in Texas or California! Roll up your sleeves, coz this is hand food! Especially impressed by the carnitas (surprised to see it in the first place!) and occasional specials such as ancho chile beef. Given the size of the beast (an average person can hardly finish one) the price value ratio is excellent. Good selection of authentic imported Mexican soft drinks and beer as well (try Negra Modelo). (A tip for the real Tex-Mex junkies: they also sell the bottles of the Cholula salsa to take home, at a better price than you see elsewhere. I use the stuff on practically everything - eggs, pizza, burgers etc.).

Just a couple of helpful tips to the management, to make the experience even better: burritos could be served a little hotter (temperature), and the amound of cheese you get is pretty measly, especially considering it costs extra. Just a few tips. Otherwise, highly recommended and rock on!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
586 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Simple menu -Yummy filling burritos and corona”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a simple dinner here but enjoyed it. Very casual. Order at the counter and eat at a communal table if you can the space. They had our favourite USA hot sauce so all good. Tasted pretty authentic

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bumper Burritos Baby!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

No it's not in Mexico, just in case your American and confused. But it's pretty close for a UK attempt at Burritos, substantial and good value for tasty and quick food.

Particularly good with Habanero sauce after several beers!

Splendido!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slomofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Burrito - Oxford - Cornmarket also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Mission Burrito - Oxford - Cornmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing