We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place To Call Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandfield Guest House
Ranked #8 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Place To Call Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent almost 2 weeks at Sandfield House, and found it to be a convenient and a very pleasant place to stay. Our host, Paul, was friendly, helpful and welcoming. He is knowledgeable about Oxford and always happy to recommend places to eat and attractions to see. The B&B made a very homelike base for us and we enjoyed the spacious room, ensuite bathroom and delicious breakfasts. As we enjoy walking, we left our car at Sandfield House and took a lovely walk through parks into the city ( ask Paul about the route). It is a bit of an uphill walk back, but we found it totally manageable and much easier than driving/parking in Oxford. Of course, bus routes also have stops very close to the B&B so that is another easy option if you would prefer to ride.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genes98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear genes98,

It was an absolute delight to have your family stay at Sandfield House & I thank you both for taking the time to write a review as well as all the tips for UK & Morocco travel!

I look forward to greeting you again next year, best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
57
63
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My father in law stayed here for three nights whilst my mother in law was in the John Radcliffe having an operation. The room was spotless. The service excellent. In what was a stressful and anxious time for him, Paul the manager made him feel welcome, helped him to find a quick route to the hospital and helped to find him somewhere else to stay when my mother in law had to stay longer than expected. Would definately use this B&B again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giraffenumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear giraffenumber1,

So glad to hear that I might have eased an otherwise difficult time for your father-in-law & I hope your mother-in-law is enjoying a swift & successful recovery!

Thank you for reviewing Sandfield House,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sanfield Guest House for three days recently. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, had all the amenities: tea, snacks, milk, hairdryer, kettle, etc. Everything was nicely arranged with lots of room for luggage, places to hang clothes, comfortable bed and bedding, free wifi and tv, even a desk and table. The location is excellent. Buses into town stop half a block from the door and are frequent. Paul, the owner, is very personable, always available to help and very knowledgeable about the area. Very tasty breakfasts were served in a cheerful diningroom. If we return to Oxford we would be sure to stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good as all the other guests seemed pleased with theirs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear DougJos,

Great to see you back at Sandfield House & I thank you for writing a review. I hoe your journey back to Australia was a smooth one and very much look forward to greeting you again on your return.

Best wishes,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Sandfield Guest House on our first visit to Oxford and we found the room very bright, clean and comfortable! Also it was very convenient has we had the bus stop that took us to the center of the town just in front of the house which is only a short ride.

Paul Anderson was very helpful and gave us all sort of recommendations, places to visit, restaurants, etc., he was ever so attentive to anything we needed and we are very grateful for that.

If we ever come back to Oxford we wouldn't hesitate to come back at Sandfield! It was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MARIBEL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear MARIBEL 13,

Thank you for reviewing Sandfield House. I’m glad you had such a comfortable stay & that you’d return if in Oxford again.

All the best,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at Paul’s guest house three times now over the last couple of years and have slept in three of the four rooms available. All of them are beautifully furnished with nostalgic decorations and fittings although with a modern, airy feel to them. The rooms are clean and well-kept and very spacious with lots of light coming in through the large windows. We found the beds super comfortable and very relaxing after a long day of sight seeing and exploring the area around Oxford. During our last stay in July 2013 Paul’s hospitality was excellent as ever and the breakfast we had was great with a choice of cereals or the famous “Full English” if you prefer that. We had a fantastic stay and I would love to stay at Sandfield another time if I am in the Oxford area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ed8die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear ed8die,

It was a delight to see you back at Sandfield House once again & I’m happy to see that you’d return if in Oxford once again…. Perhaps you can complete the set and stay in my fourth room!

Hoping all goes well in Holland & looking forward to seeing you next time!

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at Sandfield Guest House for 4 weeks on business. I cannot fault this very homely and personal guesthouse. It is immaculate throughout. I stayed in two different rooms during my stay, both of which offered those little extras. Paul the owner can not do enough for you during your stay and is very passionate about Oxford. He is happy to recommend places to eat or visit during your stay. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oxford, just a great place to be

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danni200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Danni200886,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sandfield House. Great that the little extras made a difference to your stay & I’m glad that you enjoyed both the rooms you stayed in.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sandfield Guest House was our home away from home for a month. All the positive comments on Trip Advisor could not prepare us for the personal service provided by Paul Anderson. He was professional, efficient, responsive beyond expectation and yet warm, personally engaged, and sociable. We never felt like "clients", more like "friends". The house is clean and pretty, the breakfasts generous and served to individual preferences. Paul is a living archive of miscellaneous facts about the area, having grown up in the very house now known as "Sandfield". He directed us to a bench in a park with reliable shade for quiet reading just a few blocks away, various places to eat, houses of literary interest within walking distance, and when he did not have a ready answer, he searched the internet and telephoned his friends for information about places in London. We recommend Sandfield Guest House without reservation.

Room Tip: If you are extraordinarily tall, do not take a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Gina L,

So happy that you & your husband appreciated both the 2 single rooms as well as my double ensuite. The sun beats strong at the moment so well done on finding that shady-spot with views over our "Dreaming Spires"!

Thank you for your kind words,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
1.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandfield Guest House

Property: Sandfield Guest House
Address: 19 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family concern providing comfortable accommodation in spacious double / twin and single rooms. Extra services offered are: Free WiFi Internet Access, Free on-site parking, Complimentary Breakfast, TV, Hairdryer & Tea/Coffee-making facilities in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandfield Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing