We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandfield Guest House
Ranked #8 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Sandfield Guest House in July on a weekend trip to visit Oxford. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Guest House is well located for Oxford, walking is possible and there is also a regular bus service which leaves from directly outside. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean and had a small but functional en-suite. Paul and Natalia are excellent hosts and cook a good breakfast, the poached eggs are particularly great! I thoroughly recommend Sandfield and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I visit Oxford in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrB2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear DrB2606,

Thank you for your kind review – we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & that we got your poached eggs right!

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
57
66
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Pawl tat-Targa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at various other guest Houses in and around Oxford over the years. Nothing beats the excellent location, the cleanliness and the ever so friendly and accommodating Paul and Natalia. Breakfast is superb, the decor splendid, In my opinion looking for anywhere else to stay is nothing short of a waste of precious time.

Thank you for a truly pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Though on a busy road one is oblivious of what occurs beyond the comfort of your room. Personally co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMifsudBonnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear MarkMisfudBonnici,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a review of Sandfield House. We are glad that were comfortable & really enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you once again,

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a quiet, very well run guest house, run by a couple who are focused on their guests' welfare. Have stayed in two different rooms, both of which were spotlessly clean with ample storage space. Breakfasts are massive and delicious. Buses run from 1 min outside the front door (roughly every five mins) into Oxford & Sandfield is also very convenient for the coach to & from London - there is a coach stop 3 mins walk up the road. Competitively priced for Oxford.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lavalampboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Lavalampboy,

Our guests’ comfort & welfare is top priority for us so thank you for writing such positive words about Sandfield House and the services we offer… it’s great to know that your expectations continue to be met.

We hope to see you for a third time,

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My post operative stay (Radcliffe Hospital close by) was made as comfortable and stress free as possible by Paul and Natalia. They are extremely welcoming and helpful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Sandfield is a very warm and homely traditional English guest house with traditional values. I had a very quiet back room facing the garden (despite the house being on a main road). The very substantial full English breakfast was well cooked and attractively presented. Paul also shows great attention to detail regarding booking arrangements (and patience as I had to cancel and re book twice). I would recommend Sandfield to anyone looking for a very good guest house with owners who go the extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waytostaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear waytostaygirl,

Thank you very much for the favourable review. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay comfortable & stress free.

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Paul was a most attentive, courteous host who went out of his way to be helpful. Excellent accommodation and breakfast, lovely garden, very good value for money and convenient for the Warneford Hospital with frequent bus service to Oxford centre.
Single bedroom at back of house was very quiet.
Thank you Paul, until next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haze131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Haze131,

Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you for the flattering review,

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very Clean,Plenty of hangars & storage space. Lovely garden. Attentive owners & good breakfast.Ideal for hospitals (20min walk) and 35min walk into centre of Oxford. Frequent bus services nearby. Thanks.

Room Tip: Double room at back of the house overlooks garden and very quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRGMERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear FHSStars,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandfield House. We're glad that you enjoyed the garden & the breakfasts and were happy with our location, too!

For general information: the John Radcliffe & Manor Hospitals are less than t10 minutes away on foot. The Nuffield & Warneford Hospitals, as you say, are about a mile or so.

Thank you once again, we hope to see you again soon,

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Sandfield Guest House was cosy, warm and welcoming. Paul went out of his way to give me information about Oxford and to ensure that my stay was enjoyable. The breakfasts were lovely and the room very cosy. The bus stop was just across the road and it took only a few minutes to get into central Oxford. These buses run every few minutes, so not being in the heart of old Oxford was no problem. I managed to leave a few items of clothing in the wardrobe and Paul posted them back to me in Australia, which was really helpful. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. Thanks Paul!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlenell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandfield, Owner at Sandfield Guest House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear littlenell65,

Thank you for writing a review of Sandfield House & we're glad that your left behind items found their way safely back to Australia for you!

Paul & Natalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.0 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
1.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.9 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandfield Guest House

Property: Sandfield Guest House
Address: 19 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family concern providing comfortable accommodation in spacious double / twin and single rooms. Extra services offered are: Free WiFi Internet Access, Free on-site parking, Complimentary Breakfast, TV, Hairdryer & Tea/Coffee-making facilities in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandfield Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing