We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestGate Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
WestGate Hotel
Ranked #64 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were traveling with a group of college students and needed a cheap place to stay in Oxford. The WestGate Hotel was competitive with hostels and very conveniently located by the train station, within walking distance of the university sites we wanted to visit. The rooms were adequate and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff were friendly and engaging. There's a nice little patio off the sunny breakfast room. They provide wi-fi, though it was difficult or impossible to get in most of the rooms. The students loved it and my husband and I would stay there, again, if we were traveling on our own.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirius2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    8
    10
    24
See reviews for
5
28
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in the 'annex', not the main hotel. This was quite funny as this is actually further down the road and down another street. It was a reconverted terraced house. If you check the definition of an annex this barely satisfies the criteria (it was neither adjoining or nearby). The annex was merely adequate. Terrible décor. The TV volume didn't work properly and had some sticky stuff over the remote. The light above the sink in the room didn't work.There were ?urine,vomit stains running down the toilet (noticed after check in, not next morning). We didn't get any hot water when we checked in until the next morning. They couldn't fix it and told us shift workers may have used the hot water?! They were apologetic (eventually) but couldn't remedy anything.
The breakfast in the morning was perfectly fine, no problems there. Cooked, cereals and croissants, juice.
Unfortunately, This room was not worth £62 at all and you get the impression they clearly do not check that the minimal appliances in the room work. The discount of £5 pound each for having no hot water is laughable and insulting and I simple could not be bothered to argue it. Worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Not 2 star & room not worth the cost.

Room Tip: pick a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxford hotels

stoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Having read the reviews we were not expecting to enjoy our stay here but we very much did. The welcome we were given was warm and the room was very clean if in need of decoration. Clean towels and bed linen and a cosy room. The breakfast too was of a good quality, plenty of variety and plenty of it. The other good thing about this place is its location - perfect for walking into town and really close to the railway station. Parking also available. Ideal for a one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Awful two nights saty. Ants in the room, cracked wood chip, dirty linen, holes in the carpet. Only saving grace was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Probably better off elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have to say after backpacking in Asia I thought that nothing would surprise me, but this place is disgusting! The bedding was not clean and covered in human hair, the room smelt, Im not sure you can call a random converted house 5 minutes around the corner and Annex and the decor must be atleast 30 years out of date. The bathroom certainly hadnt been cleaned for at least a month! Honestly will never go for the cheap (yest still pricey) option again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The main problem with this hotel is the rude and unfriendly manageress (I assume she is the proprietor of the place) who gave us the worst welcome to a hotel we have ever experienced! We were so shocked that we actually told her we found her manner unacceptable, to which she replied that she's not always like this, which left us feeling she had reserved this unpleasantness especially for us! She could be used on training courses as a textbook case of poor customer service.....It did leave us feeling unwelcome and unwanted guests, but later I noticed that all of the other staff were nice, so in the end I just felt sorry for them having her as a boss. OK, this is a budget hotel, but since when does that mean that the customers can be treated like dirt?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I'm afraid to say this is about the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are ancient, tiny and musky. We had an ensuite room (Room 11), which had only a bath and not a shower, and the bath was cracked and unusable. Awful bed. Unfortunately even the welcome here is not a warm one, I thought this would be a friendly basic hotel but I found the place unwelcoming and the staff indifferent to our stay. I really would avoid this place, there are far better options for the same price. I genuinely think they don't care if you have a nice stay or not - they certainly didn't ask.
Location is good next to the station however.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any nice rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scruffybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Becket Guest House
Becket Guest House
#65 of 84 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Central Backpackers Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestGate Hotel

Property: WestGate Hotel
Address: 1 Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WestGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your WestGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing