We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of choice”

The First Floor Restaurant
Ranked #294 of 671 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Service generally good here, bar staff friendly and most waiters great and they did well to cater for a large group of us.
I like the fact you eat as much as you like at this Restaurant and it offers Thai, Indian and Chinese food.
Good if you enjoy Chicken and Beef dishes but no Prawns in the dishes, no Crispy duck starters and no Prawn toast instead Vegetable Sesame toast which was tasteless!
Considering a lot of the food was Thai and Indian and several of these dishes are associated with heat there was probably 1 spicy dish. I asked the waiter if they had anything more spicy and he just mumbled at me so I took that as a no.
This place could be so much better in terms of food choice and flavours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to first floor this evening service excellent !
Decor and atmosphere lovely!
Food hot fresh and very tasty plenty of choice very good value for money what more can i say go there ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff seemed to have no idea what was going on, terrible service and no people skills and considering the place was only half full there didn't seem to be any excuse for the poor service.
Food was mediocre, especially for the price I would expect a whole lot more.
Won't bother going back again!

2  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We are extremely disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meal however without any detail explanation its very difficult to understand what actually gone wrong during your visit. We are very proud of what we our food and particularly service as you can see from all our reviews. Perhaps you can contact us directly so that we understand a little more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We went on Saturday night (after 8pm, 5 April 2014). First of all, the staff were very nice and helpful, although a bit slow to take our drinks orders and bring our drinks - this was understandable to a degree as the place was busy, but it seemed unfortunate from the business's point of view as the slowness put us off ordering any further drinks, and no-one came back near us to ask about re-orders, despite our being there for two hours.

The food was simply a disappointment. We've often enjoyed all-you-can-eat buffets, for the pleasure of trying new things and being able to dip into different dishes (when you struggle to choose at normal restaurants, it's amazing not to have to!). But this restaurant simply did not have the variety in their buffet - and it was not the case that the lack of variety was bad luck (i.e. others getting there first). It was simply that they didn't have variety, despite three different types of cuisine (Indian, Thai, Chinese). At each cuisine station, there was 8 troughs and 2 bowls - the troughs had main dishes (3 or 4 per station) and the rest were starters or noodles, similar across the three cuisines - crispy seaweed, deep-fried tempura or onion bhaji type things. The two bowls at each station had soup or rice in them. For the main dishes at the Chinese section, it was spicy tofu, stir-fried vegetables, or a lamb dish - there were no standards like black bean beef or sweet and sour chicken. For the 3 or 4 main dishes at the other two stations (Indian and Thai), it was mainly lamb (mutton), with some chicken and vegetable dishes, but they focused on the spicy side, meaning not many choices for those who can't take spice. I think there was maybe two dishes my mother could eat, as she can't eat spicy dishes. You could say this was our fault for choosing a place with Indian and Thai food, but we had expected something like a korma or sweet and sour in the Chinese section that she might enjoy. The point of a buffet is that it should cater to all tastes. They did provide salad, prawn crackers, naan bread, and cold bottles of sauces on one end of the buffet, along with pickles and chutney - the best thing by far was the chilli pickle, which was savoury and moreish. I used it to add flavour to some of my dishes.

The desserts were ok - my partner enjoyed the profiteroles and the chocolate cake and the mousse was like Angel delight, but there was no ice-cream as might be expected at similar restaurants. The cheesecake was nondescript and tasteless - it seemed oddly dry.

Other tables seemed to enjoy the meal more than we did, so there's obviously plenty of people who like this place - and the cocktails looked nice (we didn't try any for the reasons above around how long getting our first drinks took). It just seemed too expensive at £15 a head for a buffet where if you didn't like lamb or spicy dishes, you basically had to eat noodles or rice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Schmooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, General Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to write about our restaurant and it is only feedback like these that we can only improve. Whilst you had not perhaps enjoyed as much as you would have liked we would like to see you again and ask that please talk to us whilst you at the restaurant about your favorite dish and if it does not appear on the buffet we will endeavor to make it for you.
The evening you have visited were extremely busy we did get a little caught out which you have also noticed. Whilst we are a small family owned restaurant in comparison to some other very large chain and therefore due to space we are not able to offer as many dishes but we still have around 40 dishes during the evenings and try to change on regular basis.
We try to concentrate on quality rather then mass production and listen to our guests and locals. We do also ice cream however we serve those on requests. So we hope we see again at The First Floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great service, staff are very welcoming and attentive. food choices are good and varied. would definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eaglevsshark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Floor Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The First Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing