We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I needed”

The First Floor Restaurant
Ranked #297 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Bicester oxfordshire U.K.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All I needed”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden gem in Cowley Rd. Plenty of choice, very friendly service. We went fairly early on a Weekday evening and it was not crowded. The mutton Rogan Gosh was very tasty and try the naan bread. Recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merewoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Many thanks indeed for all your kind feedback and see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    28
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's ok if you're really hungry”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have to admit, right upfront, that I'm not a fan of buffet restaurants, and the First Floor did not do anything to convince me otherwise. To start with the good things: the service was very good, we had very friendly and attentive waiters. The view over Cowley Rd is not exactly pretty but fascinating in some ways. Unfortunately, the food was totally uninspiring. Greasy and sticky curries that sit on a stove for too long, some bland spring rolls, a bit of MSG-ladden chinese stuff... You get the picture. We also tried the "cocktails", the best thing about which is that they're fairly inexpensive.

If you're in a big group, hungry and/or you're not picky, then come here. If you're looking for good food on the other hand, go somewhere else...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaGaMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are very sorry that you didn't feel the food was to your liking however may I recommend our sumptuous A La Carte menu before conclude we don't produce good food, perhaps you will find that's more acceptable. So hopefully see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had visited the restaurant today with my fiance for the dinner buffet. Had a fabulous time! The welcome offered by the staff and their support throughout our dinner was fabulous! Their food was very good, brought us memories of the traditional Indian, Chinese and Thai food. The ambiance is really good. We appreciate the service given to us as the staff members are always on the move to clear out finished plates and serve you some of the best cocktails that I have had in a while. We missed out on the student discount that they offer, so anyone who has a student ID do make use of the card. The price for the buffet seems to balance the service provided, though if one could benefit from a discount, why not! Definitely a place to visit if your really hungry and want to have a good time, be it couples or groups! I think everyone would have a good time. The seating space is well spread out, so one does not have to worry about bumping or crashing into others. Their desserts were fantastic! I have not eaten the perfect chocolate cake in months! Thank-you and I hope to visit soon!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moheem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, General Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am touched and extremely grateful for your kind feedback, it is time like this that really makes it worth while. See you again very soon and don't forget to use your student discount.
Thank you from all of us at The First Floor Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just a question”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just to clarify that I haven't been to this restaurant.The feedback here sounds awesome! I can see that the manager is responding to all with great care and interest. I'd like this opportunity to ask if this restaurant serves halal food/dishes. Many Thanks

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nabeelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, Front Office Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Yes it is most certainly is Halal so hopefully see you at The First Floor very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First Floor Restaurant”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A group of 7 of us visited The First Floor for a joint birthday celebration for my partner and his friend. First impressions were very good- warm welcome, offered drinks before being seated at our table- me being a non-drinker usually get stuck on the same old boring glass of coke but they made some very nice non-alcoholic cocktails :) Looking at the menu online there wasn't as much variety to choose from as we were expecting (it does say on the website not all available at all times but still there wasn't a massive selection) but what was there was very good quality- especially the naan breads they make fresh for your table- the garlic one was to die for! Also the fresh profiteroles!! It does get quite busy and therefore loud but that's to be expected in a buffet style restaurant. It's abit of a treck to the toilets from the main restaurant- only real downside apart from the slightly limited choice of food. Prices were quite reasonable as it's on 'an all you can eat' basis. Would visit here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kez_street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFirstFloor, Manager at The First Floor Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback. If you already haven't done so please visit us on a Friday or Saturday evening to have a wider choice of dishes. Looking forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Floor Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The First Floor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing