We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service but oh so NOISY!!”

Vaults & Garden Cafe
Ranked #17 of 635 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: International, Healthy, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service but oh so NOISY!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Popped in for lunch the other day, food as usual was excellent but the noise level was horrendous! We had to literally shout at each other in order to be heard.
I would recommend this restaurant but advise to visit during quiet periods if you can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubsWubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    250
    60
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uffington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must eat here!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are looking for an 'endless choices, chips a must menu' then this is not the place for you.
If, however, you are looking for good food, cooked well, using great ingedients with a great choice of beverages then this is the place for you when in Oxford.

The staff are simply adorable as is the food.

The atmosphere is simply charming with an almost 'Harry Potter' feel to the place, eating under ancient vaulted ceilings with a great hum of enthusiatic conversation all around.

By the way, the lemon drizzle cake...is to die for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“VG food but very noisy and toilets appallingly small!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food here is very good. Tastes yummy and an interesting menu. I would agree that the service is bad. It's too noisy to hear what the mainly young servers are saying and there is not a lot of room to sit down.
However I know that its in a church and was not meant to have loos. but the size of the cubicle in the ladies loo was appallingly small. You have to jam your legs against the toilet just to open the door, and it was not pleasant. Its no good going here with small children - you would just not manage. It was made 100 times worse because on the day I went, the other cubicle was out of order.
So I would recommend it - but not on a busy Saturday lunchtime.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathKmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A charming, friendly little place with excellent food. In fact the Winter Vegetable Gratin was by far the best thing I ate in the UK. Great location, reasonable prices. Would go out of my way to go here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here for lunch last Saturday, a really cool venue slightly hidden away within the church grounds. All of the lunch dishes looked really good and were served with a choice of potatoes/rice and vegetables/salad. I had a really tasty chicken fricassee with roast potatoes and red cabbage. Good choice of soft drinks too. it was really good value for money and next time we're in Oxford we'll go again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaults & Garden Cafe also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Vaults & Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing