We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspector Morse and friends”

Experience Oxfordshire
Ranked #12 of 46 Tours in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An Oxford Official Walking Tour is the best way to explore Oxford’s history, the University of Oxford, famous people and old traditions. There is a tour for all interests including the popular City and University Tour and tours for fans of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland and Inspector Morse. Your tour will be conducted by a professionally trained guide who holds a Blue or Green Badge awarded by the Institute of Tourist Guiding, the national professional body. Your guide will also be a member of the Oxford Guild of Tour Guides.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Inspector Morse and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A well constructed tour, built around the availability of colleges. Our guide also leads other tours, so while her knowledge of Morse et all was excellent, she peppered the tour with information about Oxford and its history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursAdminTeam, Tours Co-ordinator at Experience Oxfordshire, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    74
    19
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oxford better with a tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This two hour tour, costing £10 for adults, taken March 11, 2013, was very comprehensive and led by a friendly and knowledgeable guide. It combined an historical overview of the city from its earliest days through the reformation to the present. Included were a look at the cross in the road on Broad St. where some protestant martyrs were burned, histories, but not admittance to some of the museums, a visit to a college dining hall and courtyard in this case, Lincoln College and an explanation of college life. Also included were various literary landmarks including the lantern and pub door ornaments which seem to have found their way into C.S.Lewis's Narnia. A few famous pubs were also noted. A trip to Oxford without a tour like this would be a far less rich experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bloisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursAdminTeam, Tours Co-ordinator at Experience Oxfordshire, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Inspector Morse Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This tour was a part birthday present for my wife and, despite slightly inclement weather, she enjoyed every minute. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we had the privilege of visiting many places not available to those not on an official tour. Worth every penny!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursAdminTeam, Tours Co-ordinator at Experience Oxfordshire, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“amazing top experience, worth every pound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Tourist Office offer a very wide range of Official guided tours. I have done several of those by now, and all of them are absolute top experiences. The guides are extremely knowledgeable on Oxford and English history, usually have an academic background, are friendly and approachable, and they cover an amazing number of places and topics in the limited time frame they have.

Having done both the official and non-official tours, I can say the Official tours are absolutely first-class, and the others don't come anywhere near them. Don't get seduced by the lower prices offered by other providers; you will save a few pounds but the quality they offer is not half of that of the Official tours. Speaking from extensive experience with Oxford tours!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaB936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursAdminTeam, Tours Co-ordinator at Experience Oxfordshire, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Two walks in one day for a general sense of lovely Oxford town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Given the time of the year there wasn't much availability for walking tours of different types. However we did manage to take a morning walk that focused on Oxford as a city as well as explanations on the different colleges that constitute the University. Very interesting, particularly for someone with no previous knowledge.

In the afternoon, we took the Morse & Lewis walking tour, inspired in the famous characters created by Colin Dexter. Well, for someone with absolutely no knowledge of the series, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it, mainly because we had access to 4 or 5 campuses of different colleges that we had previously passed on our morning walk but without the opportunity to go inside. I imagine that fans of both series will enjoy it even more. We also toured around different locations for the series that are interesting to visit: pubs, markets, etc.

All in all, recommended if it's your first visit.

The only thing that I would to first is to compare with other walking tours, it seemed a bit pricey, particularly the first one, for what it was.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToursAdminTeam, Tour Co-ordinator at Experience Oxfordshire, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed both tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Experience Oxfordshire also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Experience Oxfordshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing