We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return To The Randolph”

Acanthus Restaurant
Ranked #307 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Acanthus at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is a new all day dining concept in the heart of the city of Oxford offering a wide range of dishes to suit all occasions. Whether an informal lunch or celebratory dinner for a special occasion, Acanthus is the perfect venue.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Return To The Randolph”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Another delicious lunch at The Randolph.
Gravadlax and Ham Hock Terrine starters, then Sirloin of Beef for Madame and Ossobuco for me.
We shared a Milk Chocolate Delice with Pistachio Mousse.

All were delicious. Service was impeccable, warm and proper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    64
    53
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charged to much 3 times”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Impressive room. Good gastropub food. Expensive wine list starting at £23 a bottle.
Charged the wrong amount three times.
First for a bottle of wine twice the price of the one we drank.
Then charged £5.50 for tap water.
Then charged £3 more than the menu price for the wine.
Staff appeared unable to work the till.
Service was like a theatre production, all show, not much help if they get things wrong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stegi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“a nice Restaurant with excellent service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had Dinner at the Randolph a couple of nights ago. we chose a nice Chabli, priced at £42 to accompany the meal.We chose Hake fish cake as a starter, which was good. For the mains, we had loin of Lamb & organic Chicken. both were served with roast/rosti potatoes & spinach. They were delicious. For dessert, we tried Raspberry crumble & cheese. They, again, were good & the cheese board was varied with a host of soft & hard cheese.Overall, the quality of food was good & the service even better.They charge 12.5% service & it was surprising that they had printed a line for Gratuity underneath. This is quite unfair & should be removed.

it is nice the walls are decorated with the seals of all the Oxford colleges.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea with friends.
Great service and a lovely selection of food.
Great to have hot water and extra tea at no charge.
A member of our party didn't like the fruit scones and freshly made plain scones were baked.
We all really enjoyed it. Expensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Three of us went for afternoon tea and were rather disappointed. For the price we had expected something extra special but we had just four small sandwiches each, some small pastries about the size of a 50p coin and two scones with jam and cream plus a pot of tea. It was all very edible but felt it was rather pricey. Also decor inside the dining room was tired. All the chairs were of different colors and quality. On a plus side the staff were very attentive but would not return again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acanthus Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
 

Been to Acanthus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing