We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”

Acanthus Restaurant
Ranked #288 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Acanthus at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is a new all day dining concept in the heart of the city of Oxford offering a wide range of dishes to suit all occasions. Whether an informal lunch or celebratory dinner for a special occasion, Acanthus is the perfect venue.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Following a stay at the hotel, breakfast here was a delight with a wide array of cold and hot food selection. Plenty of choice for any family. Low key staff who where polite and caring, left to enjoy you food and nothing was too much to ask. Well recommended to all!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomm_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    51
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very attentive and friendly staff with a well presented meal with good timing of service but expensive drinks

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gussygeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast Only”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I only enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant this trip - but for the 3 or 4 mornings I was there it was very good. Freshly prepared hot food - and buffet style cold food.
The service was friendly - I had the impression that the staff had good experience, as they were chatty and interested.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Time3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As per information given in hotel review”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Liked the hotel, suggest eating outside after a cocktail in the bar.
The food was very poor for an award winning restaurant

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food & service good but not good value.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was to be the our dining highlight on our Oxford visit along with our stay at the Randolph.
The service is without doubt top class in the restaurant. The staff do not appear to have any set stations/tables and therefore are constantly monitoring each other providing an attentive service I have never found better in our travels in the UK or abroad at I may add many recognized fine dining establishments and hotels.

The kitchen service was also excellent and the food very tasty. Just one minor niggle the John Dory was served on a very hot plate but the food was barely warm nevertheless it was very good. Desserts to die for according to my learned partner I settled for a very nice selection of cheeses I particularly liked the waitress took the time to explain about the various items on offer.

In terms of value food wise I would suggest good the real downer on the meal was the very high mark on wines and liqueurs to ridiculous levels. I take such pricing as insulting one's intelligence and thus we dined elsewhere for the rest of our stay with equally good food but with far better value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacclesfieldGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acanthus Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Acanthus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing