We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swimming in Grease - inedible”
Review of The Mirabai

The Mirabai
Ranked #292 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Swimming in Grease - inedible”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We bought a take away - Lamb Bhuna & Lamb Tikka Sag. Also had potato & cauliflower side dish.

we hated it. The lamb was really tough & chewy, the spinach was not fresh spinach as stated on the menu but clearly tinned and by far worst of all the dishes - even the cauliflower side dish was literally swimming in grease (Ghee?) You could, see it, taste it & feel it on your lips and around your mouth. Horrible! I have never met anyone who enjoys their food full of liquid fat. It's surely something known by professional restaurateurs. I was very shocked indeed.

I have used the restaurant lots before & it's been delicious. My companion diner left most of her food for the same reason. We felt our meal was a very disgusting and unhealthy mistake.

I really hope that they can take this feedback on board and change the liquid fat content of their food in the future.

To add insult to injury when I used the web email to send this to the restaurant it was returned as un-delivered. Even their email wasn't working - hence I came to this site to vent my spleen & express my disgust.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've visited this restaurant several times with my girlfriend and others over the last few years. The service has always been friendly and quick. The flavours in the food are delicious. I've tried a decent amount of the menu.

Overall it's simply excellent and I keep going back because of this. It's not too pricey either, I'd say great value for money, especially the popadums! I've been 10 plus times now and there's never been a problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Mirabai is my local Indian restaurant and I must say I don't go there often enough. The food is good and the staff courteous, polite and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toffeegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent local Indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had an excellent early-evening dinner at this restaurant. Food had strong clear flavours and was accurately cooked. Friendly proprietor, prices reasonable, spot-on service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Regrettable”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived quite late in the evening but long before the scheduled closing time. The place was empty but there was evidence of recent custom. Or to put it another way, it was a bit messy. The serving staff were polite in the main. However, they did not handle my complaint well.
The food was very poor. The poppadum were stale. We sent them back and the replacements were stale. The vegetable curry side dish was a tomato sauce with some peas in it. No flavour or texture. It was awful. We didn't eat it and complained. I was disappointed that the staff didn't justify it with an explanation about the recipe or something, and frankly I was appalled that I was still charged for it. The other dishes were no more than acceptable.
Very poor value for money. Evidence of poor ingredients and poor cooking. The lack of care in the food demonstrates that the kitchen staff have no investment in either their work or their workplace. Either way, the management should be ashamed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mirabai also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Headington, Oxford
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Mirabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing