We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Fantastic value for money”

Pizzeria Trattoria Mario
Ranked #135 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Cowley Road is known in Oxford for its diverse array of restaurants. Most of them catering to students and need to rely on repeat business. The street is also known as Europe's most diverse streets. It is ironic walking down the street you see some resataurans full to capacity and others empty.
Marios was full and we had to phone for a booking. It is a traditional Italian diner, small and reasonable. Service was excellent, Starters were good value and fine to taste. We had a table of 6 and each ordered pizza of varying tase and I asked for a salad. The Salad was excellent nice rich fresh veg and fine olive oil. The Waitress offere me some bread to go with it too.
I had a tasting of some of the Pizza, Excellent. Thin cripsy and truly Italian.
The place was packed, but had a great atmosphere.
Food for 6 including started and Martini's - the bill came to £64.44. It transpired the started were on the house... We enjoyed it and will be back there again... toilets were clean and presentable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendlyface097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas I've had in years in a restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As we live locally, we decided to pop in on an evening for a meal. We were lucky to get a table without reservation on arrival as the place is rather small and seems very popular. It's always busy.
I could be picky saying that the staff was not super friendly at first and the decor quite simple with tiny tables to fit as many as possible in the restaurant. It may be a little overpriced on the menu for the area, but wow, once the food arrived I was quite impressed. The flavours on the oven-baked pizza were simply amazing, I ordered a Firenze pizza and it was fantastic. Thin crust and light toppings but strong in flavour. My partner had some pasta and it was very fresh and tasty as well. Very yummy and easy to digest on the plus side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely unpretentious little place”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm quite obsessed with their 'aubergine alla Mario' - known as aubergine parmigiana to the rest of us... it really is very special and I rarely order anything else. It arrives sizzling hot, full of flavour, and perfectly cooked. I usually as for some bread on the side to soak up the extra sauce.

This is very informal, trattoria-style dining on the Cowley Road. The house red is tasty and good value. The pizzas looks good, and on the few occasions when I've been tempted away from my usual dish they have been tasty. Sometimes dining companions have ended up with slightly dull pasta dishes, but never any real complaints. But did I mention the aubergine parmigiana? Mmmmmmm...

Speedy service, and great for a quick meal before or after a film at the Ultimate Picture Palace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrielle_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Any niggles are swept away on the first bite!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

OK, so the male staff can be a bit cold - more traditionally English people might even say they were rude. But honestly, the pizzas are superb. Delicious. There's a really good selection - the Bresaola is fantastic. I can also recommend their pasta and calamari starters. It's pretty good value when you consider the price of chain pizza places (where the pizzas are vastly inferior) and it's well situated in the middle of Cowley Road, meaning that you can get to bar despite feeling full!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardsimonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional Italian Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

One of our personal favourites, serving traditional Italian food. Very welcoming hosts and a friendly atmosphere. Must try the garlic flat bread!! The best well priced Italian restaurant Jamie's eat your heart out!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiavl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Trattoria Mario also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pizzeria Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing