We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient B&B for Oxford”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claddagh Guest House
Ranked #13 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We only stayed here two nights as we wanted to visit the City of Oxford. Never having been to Oxford before it needed to be somewhere that we could travel from using public transport as driving into Oxford would be a mistake as parking in the city is almost prohibited. There are very few B&Bs which meet the criteria and Claddagh Guest House seemed the best choice as we were able to get a bus just a couple of minutes walk from the house which took us to the city centre.

The house itself is very well presented having 5 guest bedrooms, 2 doubles and 3 singles. Our double room, room no.3, was situated at the rear of the property overlooking the back garden. The room was of a reasonable size, having plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, was clean and equipped with coffee/tea making facilities and TV. The en-suite bathroom was also very clean and quite large, having a corner shower, basin and WC.

Our hostess, Mena, was extremely welcoming and accomodating to our needs (we needed to change the duvet for a thinner one and this was no problem at all). Mena served the breakfasts herself and I had the full English cooked breakfast on both mornings and it was very good indeed. Other breakfast choices are available, fruit, cereals, fruit juices, tea, coffee etc At breakfast, which is served between 7:15 and 8:15 (8:00 & 9:00 at weekends) there is one large table for 6 people and so you get to share the breakfast table with other guests which means that you have the opportunity to meet and talk to other interesting people.

Mena has a beautiful, well run guest house and whether you need to visit the local hospitals, colleges or like us, just need somewhere to stay outside of Oxford City centre then this is definitely somewhere you should consider.

Room Tip: Our room, no.3 was at the rear of the property which means that you are less likely to hear any traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustVisiting59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only stayed for 3 nights! stayed as a convenience of distances to john radcliffe hosptial.
This was a hard time for us, as our daughter was in hospital for the month of january.
We were greeted with hospitality second to none by mena.
Even with the bad weather and snow she went out of her way to drive us each day to the hospital to see our daughter.
Thanks a million to Mena for making our stay that much easier in such hard times.
Our room, the food and stay in general was excellant and will recommend the Claddagh Guest House to everyone wishing to stay in oxford.
Mena im happy to let you know sarah is back home and on the mend finally!!! TG

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collette_b901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our 2 night stay was for convenience of hospital appointments.
The accommodation was found on the internet.
It is great location for local hospitals (especially early appointments) and for regular bus services to the centre of Oxford. No worrying about traffic and parking.
We were warmly greeted on our arrival by Mena, who proved to be a convivial host.
Our room was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from and fresh tea and coffee.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have just returned from 3 nights enjoying the hospitality provided by Mena. The house was a haven from the worry of hospital visiting. The room was warm, quiet and spotlessly clean and although this was not en-suite there was a vanity sink in the room and the main bathroom was one of the best I have ever seen - again spotlessly clean.
Lovely breakfast and very congenial company with Mena making sure everyone felt at home. I am hoping to return to the Claddagh Guest House and actually explore Oxford as this would be an excellent base with easy access via very regular buses into the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoiraGTring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Second stay Claddagh Guest House, visiting my daughter who is a student. Once again exceeded my expectations. Service is amazing and Mena is the perfect host. My room was warm, cosy and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from with fresh hot coffee. Great location with regular bus service to the city center. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETER O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband had a short stay at the Churchill Hospital, I stayed at the Claddagh Guest House, which I found on the internet, the room was sufficient to my needs, as it was extremely close to the hospital, room was generally acceptable, although a little more attention needed to black spots, corners of window and corner of shower! Mena was very helpful as we did have to juggle with our booking needs, due to husbands operation timings, also breakfast was ok. But we would stay there again.

Room Tip: From our room number 1, over looking a very busy main road, you are subjected to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jude369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazzadave, Owner at The Claddagh Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Jude369,

Thanks so much for your review; you are indeed correct when you mention the hospital as I keep many guests who are visiting relatives, not sure however if 'hospital lodgings' allows the most complimentary image to spring to mind though!
As always it's useful to have a fresh pair of eyes to see the rooms and their inevitable 'black spots' so thanks for pointing those out in your review. They have been dealt with accordingly.

Many thanks again,
Mena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I spent 7 nights at The Claddagh while my wife was at the Nuffield Orthopaedic. My room was warm and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. It is in an excellent position within walking distance of the Nuffield Orthopaedic Hospital as well as a regular bus route to and from the city centre. The Claddagh Guest house is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The owner is a fantastic hostess and very helpful. Highly recommended.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JesmondCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.6 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
4.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,037 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.7 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 85 in Oxford
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claddagh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claddagh Guest House

Address: 112 The Slade | Headington, Oxford OX3 7DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run guest house conveniently located just off the London Road in Oxford. All our rooms are furnished in a clean, crisp, comfortable fashion, most with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Claddagh Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing