We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding in Oxford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isis Guest House

Isis Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isis Guest House
Ranked #46 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding in Oxford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited Oxford for my Niece's wedding on Saturday.
We stayed at the Isis Guest House, Iffley Road, Oxford.Everything was fantastic.
The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were really helpful.
The hotel is really close to the town centre and has a private carpark.
I will definitely return on my next visit to Oxford.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippychiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This property was a bit of a disappointment for us in Oxford. The town is so grand that we expected a bit more of the property. the outside appearance is good but the rooms were extremely basic. We had asked for a room with 3 single beds. We got a twin room with a pull out cot. There is no residents lounge area to sit and have a cup of tea or read a book. The breakfast was fine - pretty standard English breakfast. This is probably best suited to students and their families looking for a budget property whilst the students get settled or families with young children who are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Isis guesthouse is a bit different then other B&B's. Only during summer the guesthouse is used as B&B and the rest of the year it is college accommodation. The rooms are basic, but have all you need. Good beds, basic bathroom (good shower) and it was all very clean The location is ideal, just a 10 minutes walk and you are downtown Oxford. The staff is very friendly (at reception and breakfast) and we were allowed to leave our luggage on the day of check out. Good value for money and I would definitely recommend this place to stay if you are planning to visit Oxford during summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This guest house is a super place to stay if you are on a tight budget but want to be in the city centre. Hotels are expensive in Oxford so I am glad I found this one. I stayed in the William Miller building, which is just a few minutes’ walk from Magdalen Bridge, and as soon as you cross Magdalen Bridge, you are in the centre of Oxford.

The room was not what you would call a masterpiece of interior design – in fact, it is student accommodation that they rent away in July and August but it is spacious and it has two comfortable single beds, a big desk to work at, a built-in closet and some drawers so there is plenty of room to keep your stuff. The bathroom is big with a good power shower but it is actually a wet room so you can’t help splashing water all over the bathroom floor when you are taking a shower. The service is very efficient – the room was cleaned and the towels were changed daily.

The supply their guests with a code for secure free wi-fi connection. Mine worked perfectly on the first day but for some reason stopped working the next day so the girl at the reception gave me an Ethernet cable which I used the rest of my stay there.

Breakfast was not included but there are plenty of cafes in the area.

The only small disadvantage was that the students of a summer school who were staying in the same building did sometimes tend to be a bit noisy in the evenings but it did not really bother me.

If you are not good with stairs, request a room on the ground floor: there is no elevator in the building and, although it was built quite recently, the stairs are about as steep as they are in the medieval college accommodation.

Room Tip: write to the hotel manager and ask them for a room on the ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Isis Guest House is only open during the University's summer holidays, as it's really accommodation for St Edmund's Hall. It is college accomodation, so fairly basic in terms of decor..But it's clean, well-heated and absolutely terrific if you want to work, as there's a desk in each room. (I had mobile broadband, so don't know if they do wifi). The real winner though is this: you are just down the road from Magdalen Bridge, so basically almost in the city centre. And you are paying £37 a night for a single (standard; I think it's £40 en suite). The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. There's lovely college memorabilia around. And it was surprisingly quiet the night I was there. If stairs are a difficulty, you might want to ask for lower-floor rooms, and a woman might want to be a tiny bit careful walking alone down the Iffley Road at night . . . but then that's probably true in most places!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

The guesthouse is in an ideal location for walking into Oxford, but is not a typical B&B, it's guesthouse that for most the year and I believe is used as a dorm for students. The building, room, and bathroom have a bland and utilitarian feel but were all but very clean.

Breakfast was tasty, albeit a little greasy, and while table service is nice a place of this size would be better off doing a buffet. Later in the morning when it gets busy it takes a while for food to be served. Compounding the problem is too many tables set up for 6 people and people had to stand about waiting and/or request to share with other guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_and_J_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

summer guest house that is normally for students at university. large rooms, very nice bath. exceptional and extraordinarily attentive wait staff for breakfast in a large dining room. I appreciated the owner's extended opportunity to park at the location. large enterprise- several townhouse like structures tied together with a long corridor. lack of common spaces. wifi did not work, but was offered ethernet cable [which is faster anyway]. well run and efficient, but without a lot of charm. neighborhood just south of magdalene college is just a bit run down, but while pub adjacent is under renovation, it is very quiet surrounds. busier commercial a few blocks east. rooms not well soundproofed- a lot of stairway and upper unit sounds in my space. but very good basic value for the money, and exceptional value for walkable oxford.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.2 mi away
Cherwell Guest House
Cherwell Guest House
#64 of 84 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#26 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#40 of 84 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#17 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isis Guest House

Property: Isis Guest House
Address: 45-53 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves in being a traditional guesthouse offering comfortable and affordable accommodation close to the heart of Oxford. We can offer a selection of single, twin, double and family rooms and hope to welcome you to the city of dreaming spires very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Isis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isis Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing