We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, but not nearly enough of it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fire and Stone - CLOSED

Fire and Stone
Price range: $25 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Nearest Station: Oxford Rail Station
Blackburn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but not nearly enough of it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stopped by here on a day trip to Oxford. We were served promptly, given plenty of time to make our selections without being harassed, and we didn't have to wait too long for our meals.
The food was lovely, cooked well and very tasty. The problem was, the portion sizes were tiny. Really tiny. I know there's an obesity epidemic in the UK, but I do like my main meal to last for a little longer than a dozen forkful's. And just for the record, I weigh about ten and a half stone, so I've no need to watch my weight!
Given that me meal wasn't cheap, I expected more. I was so starving by the time I got back to my hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon I ended up eating a loaf of bread to actually sate my hunger.
So great food, but please don't be so stingy with the portion sizes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBearPonting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    30
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went here after a show at the Theatre about half ten at night. Food was ok. I had Mac & Cheese and all I could taste was garlic. Not what I expected at all and very expensive for what it was!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahCurtis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pre theatre meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was heaving and we were rushed to get our meal before the theatre started. We ended up having our pizza boxed and we collected after the show. However it was lovely, tasty and the staff were helpfull. Good atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A nice concept not quite achieved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place was suggested after a quick search for a venue to grab a pizza in Oxford and we plumped for it due to the promise of global flavours on a pizza. The setting was fine and the service good, but the pizza combinations didn't really work very well. The 'Texas' was just too sweet and the rosemary within it didn't quite work. The new parmesan base sounded like a good idea but wasn't anything special. We skipped pud' as we didn't like the look of what we saw and overheard the table next to us complaining amongst themselves about theirs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reliably good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Despite a change in the menu which I think is not for the better, I still go back to Fire & Stone for the reliable food and service in the centre of town.

Taste card discount is a bonus. Service is friendly and excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OllieC290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire and Stone also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing