We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #136 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The staff were friendly and efficient but the food and the place was disappointing. Starter portions were a bit mean but quite tasty. The land and sea risotto was very disappointing......the chilli was so strong you could not taste the 4 mussels! The crispy pancetta was tasteless and brought nothing to the dish. The tiramisu lacked coffee flavour. Would not recommend or return. The ladies toilets gave the impression of really needing a make over and for the number of tables, which were close together, there were only 4 loos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BroccoliBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    653
    505
    292
    171
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service. Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Really don't understand what people are complaining about. Staff were very friendly, even though it was during peak time on a Saturday I can honestly say the staff did a great job.
Cocktails were lush, food was divine and the bill was only £45 at the end! (Shared starter, main and a shared desert)
I think people are being quite harsh, if you like Italian food, and want a restaurant in a good location with a great atmosphere then I really would recommend going!
Thank you to the blonde waitress for being so helpful and friendly (sorry I forgot the name)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CheekyScamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Second visit for dinner prior to theatre. We were unimpressed the first time but the second visit with friends was even more disappointing. The staff were friendly and reasonably efficient but why does it take so long to serve a black coffee with milk on the side ? The food was not what was expected. The bruschettas were soggy and limp and the linguine ressembled spaghetti - since when has linguine been round shaped - and was not good. Despite the convenient location Jamie's will not be seeing us again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect pre theatre dinner”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited here to have some dinner before seeing Derren Brown at the New Theatre literally next door.

Have to say I was very impressed, I found the food to be very tasty and although some say it's not cheap I would not say it is much dearer than many other places especially if you compare it to London.

We shared a starter and dessert and had the same main course (chicken) and was left feeling full and satisfied. Food was rich and tasty and I was pleased we chose to eat here rathern than a usual run of the mill chain. Maybe some others are more fussy and I am easily pleased, but I think it is well worth a visit for decent food and at a resonably good price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakerboy3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and good service!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Wasn't keen on visiting after reading all the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. We visited on a very busy Monday evening. Our waiter, Jack was a star - super friendly and efficient! Nothing was too much trouble. The plank starter was plenty for the 5 of us and really yummy. As mains we ordered 4 types of pasta and the chicken and everything was good! Also had the tiramisu and brownie for dessert which was divine. Only negatives would be that it was a bit loud and cocktails took a while to arrive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing