We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanghai 30's

Shanghai 30's
Reserve with OpenTable
Shanghai 30's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food is wonderful, the concept is great and well executed, the service was brilliant. Only thing is, service can be a bit slow. They accommodated for the fact that I wanted a starter from the lunch menu, and at the end of the meal, when I wanted the food boxed up, they did this quickly and without any fuss. Even gave us free prawn crackers with our take home food, which is very kind. Amazing service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JadeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    102
    36
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food - staff not very engaged”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I enjoyed the food - the menu was extensive and was freshly cooked. But the staff were not very friendly and it spoiled the experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shanghai 30s”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Terrible service,way too understaff and took an hour to served the main course.
The food was ok, nothing special and poor portion.
They need to employ staff who could speak english.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank livelife25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really terrible experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Based on all the positive reviews, we chose Shanghai 30's for a dinner, but it was really one of the worst experiences we ever had!

The welcoming was fine and although the location was kind of dark, because the windows were relatively small and it was a cloudy early evening, everything seemed to be fine so far. After the starters, I already didn't feel so good anymore and my stomach hurted a little bit. While having the main, it was getting even worse, I felt incredibly sick and start shaking... Fortunately my girlfriend reacted quickly and called a taxi right away. After getting home it took me some hours to feel good again... The food was definetely not good anymore! Awful experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were in Oxford for a mid week break and ate here both nights. The food was excellent ad very reasonably priced. The wine list was comprehensive to say the least, pricers ranged from £12.50 to £4.500.00 a bottle!!! The staff couldn't doenough to help you. All in all a vey pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy694Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai 30's also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shanghai 30's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing