We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really terrible experience!”
Review of Shanghai 30's

Shanghai 30's
Reserve with OpenTable
Shanghai 30's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really terrible experience!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Based on all the positive reviews, we chose Shanghai 30's for a dinner, but it was really one of the worst experiences we ever had!

The welcoming was fine and although the location was kind of dark, because the windows were relatively small and it was a cloudy early evening, everything seemed to be fine so far. After the starters, I already didn't feel so good anymore and my stomach hurted a little bit. While having the main, it was getting even worse, I felt incredibly sick and start shaking... Fortunately my girlfriend reacted quickly and called a taxi right away. After getting home it took me some hours to feel good again... The food was definetely not good anymore! Awful experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shimax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    107
    36
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mid wales
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were in Oxford for a mid week break and ate here both nights. The food was excellent ad very reasonably priced. The wine list was comprehensive to say the least, pricers ranged from £12.50 to £4.500.00 a bottle!!! The staff couldn't doenough to help you. All in all a vey pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy694Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD UK
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Shanghai 30's one of the best Chinese ever in Oxford and in the UK !!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Woowww what a surprising night out it turned out to be!! My Indian friend wanted to take me out for dinner, decided on somewhere new for me, -she's a regular there, no wonder why- we turned up at the Shanghai 30's with no reservations . It was jam packed but after few mins of waiting in the super cool 30's themed lounge , we were taken to our table in even more 30's feel main dining room. It's like going back to those times in style and dining on absolutely well thought, well prepared/represented food... I had the king prawns served in half pineapple , yummmmmm... My friend ordered the chilly tofu dish and few other vegetarian dishes, to finish it off we had mandarin orange & ginger ice cream!!!! To die for :))) very strongly recommended but do try to book in advance, as its always busy in there . Definitely will return ... What a hidden gem :)))needless to say staff were very polite & smiley , language barrier didn't seem to matter at all!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATASERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

When we arrived this restaurant at 6pm, we could not find the entrance. 10 minutes later, a chef come out for stock, we were guided to the restaurant. The food was very disappointing, just like fusion junk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One not to miss.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Eat here. If you're nearby, eat here, don't hesitate.

The food is incredible, service is great, couldn't fault it.

Almost felt guilty using our discount-giving TasteCard to get 50% off the food because the prices are so low for the quality you get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namegoeshere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai 30's also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shanghai 30's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing