We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #26 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a good experience at the Buttery. The front desk staff was very pleasant and they are available 24 hrs which is great when you are jet lagged and waking up at 3 am every morning. The location is fantastic and right in the middle of everything. The street in front of the hotel can get very busy with tourist walking traffic but is mostly closed to automobiles which is nice. It is walkable to the local colleges, and a ton of pubs including the eagle and the child. The breakfast was a standard english breakfast with some nice pastries in addition. Nothing fancy but perfectly good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    175
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
70
126
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Except for its superb location, little else is wonderful about The Buttery. A map under the bed was left behind by the previous occupant and the sink was clogged. A sign in the bathroom requested that the management be informed if these things didn't work. So i did. What greeted me was an arrogant and aloof Michelle behind the counter, who debated on what constitutes a clean room, which shows giving feedback at The Buttery is a waste of time. Breakfast of ham and eggs was awful. I overheard a man telling the waitress Corinna that the ham was just as bad as the last time he came. To give her credit, she was cheerful and all smiles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My second visit to the Buttery. The first time I came with my husband and stayed in a deluxe room at the front, this time I was with my daughter & we had a standard room at the back.This room was a lot smaller but was very clean& comfortable & we felt it was well equipped. Toiletries were a good standard.
The location is perfect, very central. and I would reccomend this hotel to anyone unless they were likely to have trouble with stairs, as they are very steep and winding.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent for almost anything you’ll want to do in Oxford, so long as you don’t have a car! It’s on Broad St which is substantially closed to motorized traffic. It’s in the shopping section of the street, and the entrance is small, with steep steps leading up to reception (followed by, ummm, steep steps up to everything!). The entrance is usually closed, and opens through an entryphone linked to the reception.

In over-popular and under-hotelled Oxford, the room rate was about right for accomodation that is on the borderline between a guesthouse and a hotel.

Check-in was fine; not necessarily professional, but helpful and friendly. Check-out ditto. Other writers have commented on the steep stairs – yup, they’re steep! Be careful if you have big luggage or elderly folk with you. This is an old building (maybe two old buildings knocked together) and the internal architecture is far from intuitive.

The room was comfortable, fresh, and nicely decorated in family-hotel style, with a great view over Broad Street. There were tea/coffee facilities, and a good-sized bathroom and toilet. There was no plug for the bath, but the receptionist found one and brought it very quickly; the shower didn’t really work, tho’, and that wasn’t fixable during our one-night stay.

There was wi-fi in the room, with moderate strength and bandwidth; it’s free but needs a complicated password. There seemed to be LAN cable connection available as well.

Breakfast is in the café downstairs, which is accessible from within the hotel. While a bit cramped, and the server a little stressed, the coffee was good, the cooked breakfast of a good standard, and the croissants were up to Parisian quality – excellent! You are however asked to sit in the back room, rather than watch the world go by from the front of the café.

Reception was happy to keep our bags (in a corner of their office!) for the day after we checked out.

So this is a good option if you’re a tourist, or visiting colleges, in Oxford. It’s central, it’s as economical as you’ll get without schlepping to one of the b’n’b places out of town… clean and comfortable, with a good breakfast.

Room Tip: there's little street noise, so a room at the front is a good option even if you want a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Buttery was a great place to stay. My fiance and I were sight-seeing in Oxford for a few days and the Buttery, with its central location and excellent cafe, was just the right spot to stay. Our room was tucked away, 'round the corner from the stairs down to the eatery below. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast provided was simple and delicious. The staff were welcoming and very helpful with tips for things to see and do in the city. We had no trouble with noise from the street, as our windows opened onto the back of the property. The location was perfect for checking out the sights in the city centre, with great shopping and too many colleges to count all within a 5-block radius. Should we find ourselves in Oxford in the future we'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepCalmKeriOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at The Buttery Thanksgiving Week 2011 to visit our son, who was studying abroad at St. Catherine's. Great for being able to walk around and see things in Oxfor. Good breakfast, large bathroom, lovely 3rd floor view of Balliol College and the Christmas Tree. Stay on the ground floor if you are not fit, no elevator.

Room Tip: ask for a room that looks onto Balliol College if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheryllJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

i was booked in here in June for 1 night for a business trip. The accommodation is all on the first-third floors of the building, with the cafe on the ground floor used for breakfasts priot to opening. The hotel will not suit those with limited mobility due to the stairs, but this was fine for me. I had a room on the third floor at the back, so no college view, but there was at least one church tower/ spire and the backs of old buildings. Being an old building the floor slants and the room is not quite square, which gave it real character. It was very clean and very comfortable, quality tea if standard Nscafe coffee, with a good sized bathroom. They ask you to hand your keys in if you head out, but that wasn't really a hassle and the staff on reception were friendly and the waitress at breakfast the same. She did very well considering she was serving us all. Not a hoard, but still plenty of guests. Breakfast didn't offer massive choice as they are a little limited by space and fire rules mean no fried eggs! I enjoyed my meal though and there was more than enough. If I'm in Oxford again for such a trip I'd happily stay again. It was not too far from the station and it was close to the bus I needed in the morning. It was also close to plenty of places to get a meal in the evening.

Room Tip: Note there is no lift and there are quite a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yksurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#19 of 82 in Oxford
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Property: The Buttery Hotel
Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing