We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; reasonable price”
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location; reasonable price”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Buttery is very centrally located in Oxford. The main draw is price and location. There is ready access to all the colleges and sites in town. Best to park outside town in a "car park". Breakfast was nothing special but satisfactory. Service was not great; despite the fact that it was a "no smoking" place, there were smokers and nobody addressed the issue. The regular bed was fine but the pullout couch was not comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    176
    73
    27
    13
See reviews for
71
127
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I chose The Buttery due to the glowing reviews, central location, facilities, and because I found a good deal on lastminute.com for what seemed like a beautiful guest house that would feel like something better than the ordinary.

Sadly it didn't deliver. Nowhere on the website does it mention how unaccessible this hotel is for anyone with any disability or any physical problems as you have to climb an impossibly steep flight of stairs to get to reception. When we got there we were told our room was then up 2 more flights of stairs and weren't given the option of a more accessible room unless we paid more money - this was disgustingly upsetting and erring on discriminatory.

The people behind reception, whilst pleasant and friendly, had no idea what service they should really offer in a large guest house. It wasn't their fault that their rooms werent accessible to disabled people, but they made no attempt to try and put the problem right - just told us we had to pay more money if we wanted a more accessible room. It took a lot of time and discussion before they actually called anyone more senior.

The hotel says they have high speed internet in each room. They don't. The rooms on the top floor cant get the wi-fi so they give you a cable, but this didnt work either. when we were eventually moved to a more accessible room where wi-fi was available, the network didnt work and kept losing signal.

The rooms were pleasant, but not outstanding. The normal price is £125 per night and I feel nothing, aside from the very central location, demanded such a price tag as, quite aside from the poor communication and misadvertising, it was nice and clean, but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippa1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

You cannot fault the Buttery for location, central to everything, places of interest , buses, shops & places to eat. The reception staff in the hotel are excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The Deluxe double we had was clean, comfortable and value for money. However, like other reviews, the dinning room was very cramped and the table was not large enough for all the food for breakfast. No you can't have fried eggs as there is a preservation order on the building and therefore frying food would be a health and safety issue. We asked the question why no fried eggs. However the food was good quality and plenty of it. Yes the waitress could have smiled more but most of the guests did not so why should she waste her energy. Some were down right rude to her. She was however very pleasant to us. The one down side was that the weather was very cold and so was the room. The heating works on a sensor, so when you are not in the room or still in bed, the heating goes off. We spoke to the reception staff who immediately got us a heater - problem solved. Point to note no safe in the room. You can leave your bags at reception once you have checked out and collect later, giving you more time in Oxford. If you want an extended tour to the library book your visit in advance as it only facilitates 13 people per tour. Great 35th wedding anniversary weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank why123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The buttery is a solid choice for a stay in oxford - good in pretty much every respect, but not outstanding. Things we liked: the very central location, the friendly staff, the comfy bed. Things we weren't so keen on: No full length mirror, the slight lack of atmosphere (it's a gorgeous old building, but they could make more of it - rooms and decor are a little dull).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I was supposed to stay in this Hotel for two nights. I booked and reconfirmed the room a few days before my arrival. I was due to arrive on Dec.1, today. Unfortunately, due to the bad weather situation, all the flights to the UK were cancelled, therefore I was unable to go to Oxford. I called the hotel cancelling the reservation, and then, once I was back at home, I wrote an email in which I explained that I did not arrive because due to the bad weather situation, all flights into London had been cancelled and all the airport had been shut down. I asked them to waive fully or partially the penalty for my late cancellation, because it was not depending on my responsibility the fact that I had not arrived! Well, one of the stuff, a lady called Jill, replied quite rudely and curtly 'I understand your travels have not been in your control but we do have a cancellation policy that we regard extremely important to keep to'. And charged me 90 Pounds for it. I think this is unfair and unjust. It is like stealing. My company has a cancellation policy, but we try to be flexible and understanding, since we deal with people! I would advice you to avoid this hotel. A company which deals with its customers in this way, does not deserve to have any customers at all!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanHolidays67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttery11, Manager at The Buttery Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to arrival and is our insuranace against unforseen circumstances that the customer may experience whether under their own control or not. As a small business it is vital that we adhere to this policy.
On booking this guest was made fully aware of our cancellation policy and it is clearly stated in our terms and conditions. When the guest called on the day of their arrival to cancel they understood this was the case and that they would be charged for the first nights accommodation. The email conversations after this, of which only a very small section has been quoted, were in relation to the guest disbuting a charge they understood would be made. We are happy to alter or amend bookings before 48 hours prior to arrival, which we had also done in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We love Oxford and were keen to try a new hotel . We picked The Buttery from recommendations on Trip Advisor. We would definately stay again although there were a couple of small issues.
The location was perfect being opposite Balliol College and in the centre of everything. We used Park and Ride which was FREE! How amazing is that and with our bus passes it couldn't have been better!
The room was lovely (101) and was very spacious although the carpet had seen better days and there was some mould on the bath sealant. The furniture didn't all match but overall was fine especially the bed which was very comfortable. The Reception staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was in the back of The Buttery Cafe and was fine although the room was quite cramped and the tables were very small. The food was good. If any-one with a wheelchair needed to use the toilet, they would have found it very difficult to manoevre the entrance which is not good. One couple with a pushchair came in for breakfast while we were there and went as they felt it was all too cramped. The cakes were excellent!
Overall, we would be happy to come again even though there were these few things that were not so good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City-Break-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Superior room overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College. Room was at a lower level on entering than Reception necessitating more stairs which encroached into the room. Small room so standard rooms must be tiny. Carpet requires cleaning. Spiral staircase from Reception level to Cafe for breakfast. The waitress needs to learn to welcome guests with a smile and a 'Good morning' The Reception staff could give lessons!
Apart from the above comments the room was adequate and the food reasonable although only scrambled eggs.
The location is ideal if, as we did, you like being able to return to your room for a rest during the day. The City of Oxford itself is excellent and relatively compact, so easy to explore on foot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyhall37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Property: The Buttery Hotel
Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing