We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Backpackers Oxford
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Easy to find, the hostel is situated close to both train and bus stations, but unfortunately also near one or two noisy bars (to sleep, earplugs are a must, like in any youth hostel). Early arrivals can leave their luggage in the office and use the premises (kitchen, living room, bathroom, and computers). Beds are allocated later in the afternoon. No curfew; a code is issued for the front door and a magnetic card for the room. The dorms all have small lockers for valuables. Bring your own lock or buy one there.

The staff was friendly, welcoming and willing to help. I was given a short tour of the place when I arrived at lunch and eventually given my bed (with quite a good mattress) in a dorm of 6 girls (3 bunk beds) when I came back at 6 p.m. While sheets, duvet and pillow were supplied, towel & toiletries were not. Plenty of pots and pans were on hand to cook on the stove (you had to wash your own dishes of course) and a couple of small fridges were standing under the counters to put things away. For breakfast, toast and cereal, coffee, tea and juice were available every morning after 7 a.m. The whole place was clean including the couple of showers/toilets and the terrace closed every night at 11 p.m.

There was only the one ceiling light for all of us, so the lack of a small individual light beside the bed was felt. Also a small chair/table in the room would have been handy. Last, while the walls were not extra thin, one could hear doors slam, especially late at night. That being said, overall, considering the number of people in the hostel, it was reasonably quiet for this kind of lodging.

Nearby, to buy food, there was a Mark & Spencer on High St. and a large Sainsbury at the Westgate shopping centre. The train station also had a small M & S-food only. As well, a small Sainsbury could be found on St-Giles St., all within 5-10 min. walk.

To go to Cambridge: The X5 bus is the simplest way (3 1/2 hrs). Reserve your ticket ahead through the Megabus website for a very low price (depending on the departure time). Using the train means going back to London and is therefore as time consuming as the bus but much more expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

Visited Oxford for an interview during the week. The hostel was great, quite quiet, with friendly and helpful people. The people are young, the atmosphere is relaxed and vibrant at the same time. As a solo traveller you quickly made contact with others visiting Oxford on their own. I was staying there for an interview at the university and met quite a few more serious (ie, non party, interview/student/library) types there. Good facilities and it was definitely wel cleaned, only once spotted a messy bathroom (must have been one very messy person) and an hour later it had already been cleaned!

It must ofcourse be noted that there is quite a bit of noise from the clubs around, it is more feeling the beat than hearing it (this was not even the weekend). Also I believe the hostel was fully booked on the weekend, and this may make it a little more cramped in the common rooms and kitchen. Still, lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at this hostel in October of 2009 for 4 days [ the 18-22].It was clean and comfortable and affordable , especially for Oxford.What made this stay great were two things.

One . - Oxford is a great town.It's my favorite British city.Defintly visit The Pitt Rivers Museum.Overall it's a great place to walk around in.Nearby Headington is great to walk around as well. [go to "Posh Fish " in Headington for the best fish & chips ] .

Two - the hostel was full of interesting people. While i have enjoyed many YHA hostels , they do tend to be sterile and full of 10 year old school kids.I actually like the fact that the independent hostels like this one have English people who are staying at the hostel while they look for work or a place to live.They are not vagrants or anything like that.They are just ordinary English people.Tht's why i visited the UK . I learned a lot about Britain and how ordinary people lived from some of the longer term residents.

Overall it was a nice hostel.One word of warning .It is in the middle of a few nightclubs.But they handout free earplugs at reception.2 of the nights i didnt even need the earplugs

I had no real complaints and if i ever can go back to the UK i will defintly go to Oxford again and stay at Central Backpackers Hostel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltimorepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zur Hofseite - oder in einem anderen Hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 371juliaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheMaryBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez une chambre le plus loin possible de la boîte de nuit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3 mi away
No photo provided
7.4 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
637 reviews
12 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#28 of 44 in Oxford
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Oxford

Address: 13 Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range: $21 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpackers Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Backpackers, Oxford’s premier Backpackers Hostel accommodation. Central Backpackers brings a new level of comfort and security to the hostel experience. With a huge range of free services including Internet, light breakfast, 24 hr access, lockers in all dorm, BBQ deck area everything you need to make your trip safe, comfortable and enjoyable. Located in the centre of Oxford’s Historical University city. Central Backpackers is less than a 5 minute walk from the bus station, train station, Oxford’s Castle/Prison complex, Museums and vibrant student nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Central Backpackers Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing