We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
48
63
22
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
63
22
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm common room the bus usb charging ports free tea and coffee common areas one night laundry service free wifi an iron key card your luggage rail station hostel earplugs computers beds
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 143 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Visited Oxford for an interview during the week. The hostel was great, quite quiet, with friendly and helpful people. The people are young, the atmosphere is relaxed and vibrant at the same time. As a solo traveller you quickly made contact with others visiting Oxford on their own. I was staying there for an interview at the university and met quite a few more serious (ie, non party, interview/student/library) types there. Good facilities and it was definitely wel cleaned, only once spotted a messy bathroom (must have been one very messy person) and an hour later it had already been cleaned!

It must ofcourse be noted that there is quite a bit of noise from the clubs around, it is more feeling the beat than hearing it (this was not even the weekend). Also I believe the hostel was fully booked on the weekend, and this may make it a little more cramped in the common rooms and kitchen. Still, lovely place to stay!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I stayed at this hostel in October of 2009 for 4 days [ the 18-22].It was clean and comfortable and affordable , especially for Oxford.What made this stay great were two things.

One . - Oxford is a great town.It's my favorite British city.Defintly visit The Pitt Rivers Museum.Overall it's a great place to walk around in.Nearby Headington is great to walk around as well. [go to "Posh Fish " in Headington for the best fish & chips ] .

Two - the hostel was full of interesting people. While i have enjoyed many YHA hostels , they do tend to be sterile and full of 10 year old school kids.I actually like the fact that the independent hostels like this one have English people who are staying at the hostel while they look for work or a place to live.They are not vagrants or anything like that.They are just ordinary English people.Tht's why i visited the UK . I learned a lot about Britain and how ordinary people lived from some of the longer term residents.

Overall it was a nice hostel.One word of warning .It is in the middle of a few nightclubs.But they handout free earplugs at reception.2 of the nights i didnt even need the earplugs

I had no real complaints and if i ever can go back to the UK i will defintly go to Oxford again and stay at Central Backpackers Hostel

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltimorepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room tip: Zimmer zur Hofseite - oder in einem anderen Hostel!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews