We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza Ever”
Review of Zizzi - Oxford

Zizzi - Oxford
Ranked #206 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Located on busy George Street, Zizzi Oxford is close to the bus and railway stations in the centre of town and in the heart of the theatre and cinema district. The restaurant itself is heavily influenced by local legend C.S. Lewis, writer of one of the most popular books of all time, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Silver birch trees referencing the forest scenes from the book and lighting features alluding to the snow drops in Narnia welcome diners. So, whether it's for a business meeting, a family get-together, a party or a romantic meal, the team at Zizzi in Oxford looks forward to your visit. And if you’re celebrating something special, see if our private dining area is right for you.
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Best Pizza Ever”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been there with my wife and 2 children, great food, fantastic value, lovely and professional service. 2 thumbs up!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arti_Marta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    102
    63
    49
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I'm surprised by some of the negative comments about this restaurant. Granted, there should be more waiting staff in the place so it can take a little while before your order is taken. However, we were sat in a comfortable booth (despite there being only two of us), and we had a very nice lunch. I had one of the best pizzas I've had in Oxford for a long time, and the food was well presented and arrived quickly. Good value (we used the 50% off deal available at the time). Not a place if you're in a rush, but other than that ... I'd go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid it!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Poor service!!!!
DISRESPECTFUL, unsmiling and condescending waiters!
They made a mistake and brought me something I did not order.
Very expensive low quality food. Highly disappointed. TO AVOID!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a very bad experience for me and my girlfriend. Waiters didn't smile, made mistakes with the order, nearly pressed us to leave (repeat 6/7 times "bye, see you soon" with a fake smile in 1minute...........).

The food was not hot enough, not really "good", and it's very noisy!!

For this price we expected something better but it was really bad!

AVOID THIS RESTAURANT!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Understaffed, mediocre food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well - prebooked (thank goodness?) for 7pm on 17th September for a pre show meal. Although probably should have gone somewhere else. They had a 50% off offer for main courses and the place was packed with a long queue & only 3 staff on. It was manic and a stressfull meal as we were not sure we would be able to eat and get to the show on time.
The food was ok nothing special.
The staff should not be made to work in this manner. It is is a busy show area and the management know they are putting on cheap offers and should staff accordingly.
So poor marks due to bad management
Service and atmosphere rated as poor as everyone was waiting to get their meal pre performance and it was a stressful environment although the staff did their best under such circumstances.
Mediocre food - will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueowl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Oxford also viewed

 

Been to Zizzi - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing