We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but far too expensive for what it is.”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #367 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but far too expensive for what it is.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went here for valentines last year. They did a set menu - around £20, which was extremely overpriced for what you can get for around £10 in similar Cowley Road places.

The food was good, but nothing special. Service was slow. Not a disaster but I won't be going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OllieC290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    35
    20
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good Sunday buffet”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Really good Sunday lunch buffet. Authentic Thai food mixed with chinese style cuisine. Some of the starters were under temperature but this is expected when eating buffet. Overall, 7.5 out of 10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mail4matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, lovely food.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dear all

It was one of the loveliest Valentines' days we had so ever.We had dinner at your beautiful restaurant last night .
Everything was really fantastic: cleanliness, services, food quality), simply everything.
Thank you for your hard work.
I very highly recommend it to other people!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haltaiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Myself and my husband have eaten here many times. Everytime the service is brilliant. The food is out of this world. Really delicious. A good variation on the menu. All the staff wear traditional clothing and you are surrounded by amazing wood carved tables and chairs, not to mention the spectacular carved fish tank in the entrance! Has a lovely atmosphere. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank VLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rude guy in charge!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came here at a quiet time between Christmas and New year. There was 1 guy running the show who just couldn't be bothered. He ignored us - he was either on the phone or chatting to a friend. We had to go and pick up the wine list for ourselves, but he still didn't come and ask us if we'd like to order anything. In the end we walked out and went to Nandos... A shocking way to treat customers...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank misscheekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing