We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service...Good food”

Las Iguanas - Oxford
Ranked #79 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad service...Good food”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My friend and I went last night to Las Igunanas and there was a long wait for a table.The waitress could of offered us nibbles whilst we waited for a table and tell us that there were things missing from the menu.

Ordered our food and they did miss a few things. i.e no Jalepeno on the nachos which we asked for and normal fries instead of sweet potato fries when my friend made of point of asking for these and saying how he loves them!

My veggie curry was delicious and the food was good but the attention to detail was poor.

Still had a good time but they need a kick up the backside!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lollybob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    91
    45
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We (family) had lunch and dinner quite a few times and I have to say it is one of the best restaurants in Oxford. Good food, good ambience and excellent service!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We got in to find not only was our reserved table still full, but we couldn't sit anywhere and the bar staff were reluctant to serve us. After 20 minutes and very expensive cocktails later we sat down.

Luckily our waitress Gee was lovely but the rest of the time the staff looked like they didn't even want to be there and food took a very long time to come out. Food was nice but really wouldn't come back due to the derisive staff, especially when you can be the same food but cheaper with friendly workers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rigid and inflexible, very poor.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We took our daughter here for her 18th and first cocktail, unfortunately we didn't take ID (our fault). She was accompanied by both parents, 10 year old sister and 25 year old cousin, it was 5.30 in the afternoon and Tuesday, so hardly a group staggering in after a session on Friday night at 11pm. The waiter was sympathetic and also aware that actually 16 years old is ok legally with parents present but the manager said no (we did ask to speak with him but he was busy in the office). We were the only people in apart from two staff drinking at the bar - and the manager unable to leave his office.
Whilst we now appreciate we should have taken ID what differentiates one restaurant from another is how they look at cases on an individual basis ie, the time, people, circumstances etc. We returned the menus and left going to Jamie's, which was packed and who had no issues with age. If someone senior at los iguanos is bothered about service, customer advocacy and commerce then I suggest they check out the DVD footage (1st July) to see if the outcome could have been better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Oxford, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately the law is not flexible and penalties for serving under age guests are rightly harsh. Our policy right across the company is that we do not serve any alcohol to anyone under the age of 18 and will request ID using either Challenge 21 or Challenge 25 depending on the branch. We clearly state on our website that ID is required for young people and that is common in the majority of premises these days including restaurants, particularly those that sell cocktails as well as wine and beers. I'm afraid I cannot comment on what another restaurant chain may be prepared to do but on this occasion we would fully support our restaurant for following the correct procedure. I am sorry that our Manager wasn't able to come and speak to you. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment decision to eat in Las Iguanas”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

After a long day training we were heading into Oxford town centre when it began to rain. We decided to pop into Las Iguanas to avoid the shower. Best decision we made. We received a very friendly welcome and the service was excellent. Thoroughly recommend the Tapas - best one I have tasted outside of Spain. Portions are very generous so the 5 plates for £24 to share were perfect. It was happy hour too so a bottle of Merlot was only £10 - not bad for restaurant prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angie33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Oxford also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing