We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Hot food”
Review of Nando's

Nando's
Ranked #408 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Too Hot food”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

went was a family, service was excellent, however the plain chicken on the menu is NOT plain at all, it all comes pre-spiced, nothing for anyone that is not keen on chillies and hot hot food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bounce2tigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    28
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Noisy and low qulaity”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had to queue outside and inside, the door was cnstanlty opening causing a draught due to the queuing. The noise was terrible we couldn't hear each other speaking and the food was rather average to poor.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NOrm1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“All Good”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good value for money. Nice atmosphere, clean, joyful. Music a bit too loud where I was sitting. lol

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lippy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Nandos I have ever been to”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have been to so many Nandos accross the UK and this is still the best one. Best service, best cooking, best atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kleewaylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the staff.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Checked online at the closing time of which it said 11pm so went in there at about 10.40 expecting to be seated and served in the restaurant. The guy left us standing at the door then slowly slumped his way over to us to say that it was only take away. This would have been fine, had there not been three girls (dolled up ready for a night out) that ordered about a minute before us that had been told they could eat in the restaurant. If you are going to stop serving in the restaurant at a certain time then that should be 1. stated on the website and 2. be the same rule for everyone. There was also group of three guys sat there who received there food as we were waiting, I do believe that one of the guys worked there, but then he was joined by two of his friends who then didnt even seem to pay for the food...

I am very annoyed at this very unfair reasoning and shall not be returning to the cowley road Nandos in the future. Staff should maybe learn how to talk to customers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing