We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First date venue made a good first impression”
Review of Living Room - Oxford - CLOSED

Living Room - Oxford
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Rail: Oxford Station 5 minutes walk
Description: The Slug and Lettuce forms part of the re-development of the historic Oxford castle heritage site in the centre of Oxford. It remains a firm favourite amongst Oxford's discerning diners and those seeking high quality fresh food and cocktails in a stylish environment. Join us for a leisurely or working lunch, afternoon meetings or simply recharge your batteries after a hard day shopping!
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First date venue made a good first impression”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I booked a table for a first date here after a visit to Oxford Castle, suffice to say I was not disappointed.

The meal was exquisite in both preparation and taste, the ambience was perfect, the staff were attentive and while the costs were at the higher end of the market it was certainly worthwhile. I would recommend The Living Room to anyone who is looking for a quiet intimate meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    36
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worth getting out of prison for.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Last time I was in this area was when I was released from what was the Oxford Prison, now a hotel.

The living Room lies just outsiode what was once the main gates, good attentative staff, especially the lovey Camilla, good honest food, great wine a perfect lunch stop,

Grear outdoor venue if the weather is good and a lively evening venue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelWhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for cocktails but don't eat here!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited here several times with friends for cocktails and the variety and quality are of a good standard. There is a happy hour as well which has a good selection. Don't eat here though as the quality of the food and service are very disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,702 helpful votes
“Get away from the riffraff”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A good place to go for a cup of coffee or a drink or something if you want to get away from the riff-raff shopping in the centre on Saturday mornings. You can sit outside under a sort of arbour thing if you want.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never ever go there!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've been to this restaurant once last year. We had a night out with some colleagues. The website looked promising and when walking in the restaurant looked nicely decorated.
We were nearly the only guests but the service was very slow. We really felt ignored.
When the food was finally served it was too cold and had absolutely no taste. We were very disappointed and decided to have a nice hot chocolate to close up positive. However, the hot chocolate was cold chocolate and didn't taste like anything. The staff was very surprised when we complained but I can't imagine we were the first guests to complain.
This was nearly a year ago but I will never ever visit this restaurant again!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydiavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Living Room - Oxford also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford
 
Stanton Saint John, Oxford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing