We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Chinese? This one is value for money!!”
Review of Royal China

Royal China
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like a Chinese? This one is value for money!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Really good value for money ....an all you can eat BUT served according to your order.......varied and comprehensive menu (23 starters) and you could choose up to 6 items each from the starter and main menu as well as a second course (Aromatic Crispy Duck) a limited desert choice but you haven't room, so its of no consequence. A meal for two with a glass of Red each came to £34.00. Enjoy!!!! Take away service and brunch menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colininire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    11
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese - would go again.”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I visited the Royal China on a Wednesday night and had never been here before but wanted a change to our usual Chinese restaurant.
I was pleasantly surprised how busy it was for a midweek night and were seated quickly and given a menu promptly.
We ordered a mixture of starters ( buffet to table menu) and kept to soft drinks, we then had the Crispy Duck which was plentiful and very nice really impressed with it.
The service was very good and the Lacy who run the front of house was very pleasant and accommodating. We ordered quite a few mains and there were small portions but fine and actually gave you the chance to try things you might not normally do.
I would defiantly go back a meal for the two of us was about £38.00 with soft drinks and we were not rushed and made to feel welcome.
I would recommend to try this Chinese in Henley there are many around the area but would say this is a great one if you want a buffet style of choice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyReading.Berks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its cheap at least”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We started visiting about 3 years ago and have been about 6 times now. the first couple of years it was cheaper and you get what you pay for! After not visiting for almost a year because we got fed up with being overlooked by the woman owner we decide to give it another go 28-7-11. The young waiter was happy and polite, but the main people and i guess the owners , man and wife in the 60's. well once more we were made to feel an inconvenience, that look when you order a few dishes, a very slow repeated drink order.[hello we are customers who are there to have a good time!] and then not even an offer alcohol! would you like some water now he said. Now i appreciate food price are up but the food now is so poor in taste and the salt content is amazingly awful... the chicken satay, well lets say chicken saltee! that would of certainly been caught floating around the dead sea.. all the courses are really quite poor and what a shame it use to be tasty cheap junk food, not salty horrible food and please,please work on being happy once more..maybe they have been poisoned by the salty content but remember its the customers that give you your income so being polite is the first rule of thumb..
and stop watering the gin down..
i like to give places a chance and always consider how much im paying but just dont bother

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tad209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“disapointing”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A lack luster evening, food arrived at the table warm and not hot. Poor quality of ingredients used. I think the food had been precooked and a sauce added, not freshly cooked as stated on web site. Service was too fast, and we felt hustled to finish. The restaurant was almost full, so this was a bad night for them or the people of Henley have low expectations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant - great value - great food”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We have been going to this restaurant for many years. It remains fabulous value for money. The proprietors are very attentive, even though they are usually rushed off their feet. We love the starters and the duck so much that we usually only have a little room left for the main courses and we have never managed the apple fritter . I think the person who wrote a bad review went to a different restaurant. Our bill for 4 people was just over £80 and that included a bottle of wine and several drinks. We have never been charged a service charge. The fact that this restaurant is always busy is a testament to its excellence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlnharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
 

Been to Royal China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing