We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room. Comfortable for 6 or 7 peeps.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room. Comfortable for 6 or 7 peeps.
High ceilings and original cornicing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sitting room. Comfortable for 6 or 7 peeps.
High ceilings and original cornicing
Dining for 6. Opens out onto private courtyard.
The Victorian Wing; a beautiful 1870's cottage within minutes of Henley Town Square
Comfortably furnished with mid century and antique furniture. Smart TV's in 3 rooms
Traditional kitchen with range cooker & double butler sink...all mod-cons
Washing machine, dryer, blenders, microwave, slimline dishwasher
Everything for the cook..crockery, glassware, bake-ware and pans.
All household needs (washing, bathroom and laundry items) supplied free of charge
The pantry is filled with essentials - sauces, spices, oils, herbs and preserves
Bedroom 1, super-king bed. Smart TV for bedtime/lie in movies. Perfect for couples
Bedding and pillows are goose and duck feather down, all linens 200+ thread count
Pocket sprung, latex topped mattresses for the ultimate in back care and comfort
One wardrobe free in each room for guests
Charming bathroom with fireplace, roll-top bath and separate shower
Bathroom. Great water pressure and oodles of hot water. Plenty of storage
Bathroom. Complimentary SLS & Paraben-free toiletries
The patio at night - magical in the summer months
Patio summer 2017
Downstairs small double bedroom with en-suite shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel W
1 review
“Best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Beautifully furnished. Wonderful art work on the walls! Luxurious bathroom! Gorgeous patio area. Well equipped kitchen. Amanda was a great host and provided us with excellent info regarding directions to the cottage etc. So conveniently located. You feel in the peaceful countryside in the middle of nowhere but are actually just a 10 min max walk away from the centre of Henley. Our children had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave. Neither did we!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Good Lord, what a smashing review :)
Thank you so much. Welcome back anytime folks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Glasgo...
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, spacious and great location”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful time staying at this lovely, well equipped cottage. The location is perfect, quiet but just a short walk from the centre of Henley. It was more spacious that expected with very comfy beds and tep bathrooms which was ideal for our party of six. The courtyard out the back is a hidden gem! Amanda was very welcoming and helpful and we had a wonderful time exploring the local area. We hope to be back, the only thing that we would do differently is stay for longer.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for this lovely review....welcome back anytime for a longer stay :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue P
1 review
“Hidden gem in the heart of Henley”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We arrived to a warm welcome from our host Amanda to find a well equipped little cottage. It was nice and clean, tastefully equipped with nice furnishings, fluffy towels and thoughtfully stocked with nice soaps, hand creams, etc.
As it says in the description it really is only a few minutes walk into the centre of Henley and the river with lots of nice pubs, trendy little shops, etc.
Our only criticism would be that the third bedroom downstairs is on the small side for a double but that's only a minor thing.
We were hosting a dinner party for friends and Amanda went out of her way to help out and was on hand to help us get in and organised before our guests arrived as her property is next door,
We all had a great weekend.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Glad I could help the festivities go with a bang! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful house - very comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My mother has already left a review, but I just wanted to say a big thank you to Amanda for such a great stay. The house was perfect for getting ready in on my wedding day, a few weeks ago. Surprisingly, in the circumstances, I had an excellent nights sleep in the massive bed and woke completely refreshed. It was lovely to sit and have breakfast outside, before having makeup done at the dining room table. It felt like a beautifully decorated family home from home which was exactly what we were looking for, to be close to the church for the big day. Thank you for making us feel so welcome, and for the flowers everywhere. I look forward to returning with my parents.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of the decor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Oh wow, that's really kind of you to write me review..thank you so much! I'm chuffed the house was a good fit for you. It sounds like your day was really special. Welcome again any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie084
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Best description for our visit to “The Gorgeous Victorian Cottage” in Henley was: exceeded all expectations.
Location was perfect, with a short walk to the centre of town with its myriad of pubs, coffee shops and very good restaurants and supermarkets.
Just a few minutes walk to the Royal Henley Rowing Regatta, all the venues (including the floating stage) and restaurants set up for the Henley Festival. And a short drive to the course for the Henley Masters regatta.
House layout and size was far better and more generous than the photos on the web site could show. Flowed nicely and the kitchen, dining and living were all appealing and comfortable in décor and fit out.
Biggest advantage was having the owner, Amanda, living separately but on site. Privacy never an issue, but her help and advice went way beyond the normal. To the extent she was able to find our group, through one of her local contacts, access to specialised equipment to use in a particularly beautiful area on the Thames. She also provided early notice of the Henley Festival coinciding with our stay, so we were able to get excellent seats for the main festival event we wanted to attend.
All round great stay. Hope to have the chance to return for another visit.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything about it.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
Oh thank you Tim and Masters Gang for your generous review. It was a privilege to look after you during your stay. Sometimes I don't even see guests but it was very nice to get to know you all, hear your story, and be helpful - my friendliest guests ever! I'm just pleased it was a good stay because you all worked so hard for your races. I hope we shall meet again and that you are all home safely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoottonWa...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis of loveliness”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the property last weekend as our daughter was getting married at Holy Trinity Church. We had received reassuring e-mails from Amanda prior to our stay who was so welcoming and accommodating. The standard of decor, furnishings and facilities was superb. Sitting outside eating breakfast in the beautiful secluded courtyard before slipping into the gorgeous bath tub set the tone for our wonderful day. The property is ideally placed, just a short walk to the restaurants and shops in the town. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property and look forward to returning ourselves.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the cottage such a lovely review, and for being great guests. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family at the cottage again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sozzlerua...
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in perfect location”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a beautiful house and exactly as described. I got ready here with my family before my wedding day and my family stayed there for a second night. Amanda was a fantastic host and was very happy to help with any queries. The location is perfect (a short walk to the town centre).

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The small touches such as toiletries
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
I hope your special day was fantastic! Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing