We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the price, its very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Catherine Wheel
Yateley, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“At the price, its very good”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

At first, you would think a Hotel owned by "budget" pub chain Weatherspoons may not be the best option and a Premier Inn / Travelodge may be better .... NO SO!

I travel a bit for work, and get annoyed by large hotel chains charging the earth for uncomfortable beds and the "label". The Catherine Wheel delivers more than you may expect. Rooms are sizeable and clean. Decor is a little "dated", and bathrooms are basic .. but at that price, in Henley ... its worth it!

Bed is OK .. two nights is my maximum on it though. The front of the hotel is on a main thoroughfair through Henley, so light sleepers should try and get a rear facing room. Also, book a car parking space well in advance if you need your car close. If not, there is a free car park (between 5pm and 10am I think) within 5 mins walk.

In my experience, the staff are really good too. Efficient, yet friendly.

All in all. I stay here when I need to be in the office for a few days and/or early/late .. and will continue to do so!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    268
    107
    29
    30
See reviews for
102
262
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed last week for the weekend and had a great time,the hotel is situated right in the centre of town , the reception staff were very helpful at check in,although there is music on a friday night it didn`t disturb us in fact we quite enjoyed lloyds bar,the room facilities were very good and spotlesly clean, we have stayed in a few wetherspoons and this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding in Henley.

We originally booked for 2 of us for one night, then a few weeks before my husband called to extend the booking to 2 nights and add an extra room. This seemed to have been forgotten as when he arrived there was no room....The reception sorted it out quickly and we were able to get the extra night and room.

The room we were in (120) was really nice, lots of room and all the facilities you need. It was a bit dark, but OK. The bed was a small double which for a tall couple was a bit of a squeeze.

We knew about the disco in the pub beforehand and it wasn't a problem. We didn't get back from the wedding till near 1 and as a lot of the guests were staying there we carried on the party. I went up at about 1:45 and from my room could hear the base, but it was not loud at all and I feel asleep without a problem.

I would stay here again if we were in Henley. It was good value and right in the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed a couple of weeks ago...we chose this hotel for the location as we'd never been to Henley before and we wanted to visit London; wetherspoons was ideal choice... we stayed mid-week it was very quiet which was ideal for us (I am told there is a disco on weekends tho.)...it's in a perfect location right in the middle of town and a short walk to the train station...the room was really clean and cosy, bit old fashioned but as you'd expect from an old building; it even had a fixed ironing board and hair dryer which I'd never seen before...the lounge/dining area was very nice - again very quiet; all the meals we had which included breakfast and evening meal were very nice - especially the curry night on the thursday which after traipsing around London was lush and believe it or not was really romantic...all in all for what we paid and for what we got it was great value and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: apparently you need to prebook a parking space, if staying fri/sat book a room furthest away from mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here last night 15 OCT. All the hotel staff were excellent, so helpful. The room was very clean and had everything in it you needed. The price was amazing. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels and not recieved half the service that was provided here. We have booked again for DEC. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, just passing throug in the morning. We had traditional breakfasts which were £1 more expensive that most Wetherspoons. However, the food was delicious - hot, fresh, nicely cooked and pleasant service.

I would definately visit again. Although still reasonable, don't understand the need by this chain to increase prices because of location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Catherine Wheel for the first time at the weekend having enjoyed our stays twice before during weekdays. The noise from what sounded like a rave directly below our room (108) was unbearable even with earplugs. After complaining at 11,40pm we were told that it quieted down at about 01.30 am! This was not mentioned on booking in. Take my advice and think carefully about staying here unless you are a lover of pounding very loud rave music.

Room Tip: Nowhere at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
528 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catherine Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catherine Wheel

Property: The Catherine Wheel
Address: 7-15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Catherine Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catherine Wheel Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Catherine Wheel Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing