We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK room, great breakfast and good price for area”
Review of Loch Fyne Henley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Fyne Henley
uk
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK room, great breakfast and good price for area”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Difficult to write this review as there was some good and some not so good but here goes...

The room (2) was basically furnished, the bed was not comfortable, the en-suite was up a steep flight of stairs and the shower was bit grubby around the tray area and lower tiles. On the other hand it was a great size, been recently redecorated, had a nice TV, free WI-FI and the shower was a good size with a good head of hot water.

The breakfast was outstanding.

All the staff were friendly and helpful - particularly the young woman on breakfast duty.

At 75 pounds for B&B for two people it was a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    36
    14
    14
See reviews for
13
93
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stay here regularly when travelling on business as it really represents value for money whilst the rooms are huge and very clean above an excellent restaurant situated in the centre of Henley. I have stayed in different rooms each time I have stayed and this time i was in room 2 which again was huge with a bathroom up a few steps. The beds provide excellent sleep quality. I love this hotel for the price and simplicity but quality and size of rooms and accessibility to a decent restaurant at the foot of the stairs.

The meal on the evening was lovely and I love the breakfast as has lots of choices. There are the usual cereal and fruit juice choices, yoghurt and fruit plus pastries. Then you get the choice of a traditional English breakfast or many options that involve fish - on this occasion I had the poached haddock served with a poached egg, hollandaise sauce on a muffin - it was delicious, followed by toast.

Some people don't like this hotel because it doesn't have an official reception but take it for what it is - it is a restaurant with rooms. The staff are very pleasant and will go out of their way to help you as long as you appreciate they are also waiting on tables. If you want a complete hotel experience go for any of the other hotels in Henley (which i have stayed in) but this will be reflected in the price in my experience - this hotel offers excellent value for money.

There is a car park at the rear of the property,which is situated at the heart of Henley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The door to the hotel was locked and the entrance to the hotel door was cluttered by furniture and smelled of fish so we gained entry via Loch Fyne Restaurant. Lady at the bar was off hand and very unwelcoming, almost throwing the keys at us over the bar and rattling off details of breakfast etc so fast to be intelligible. When I asked her to repeat the information she spoke to me as if I was an imbecile. Not a good start!
The hallway was nicely furnished but when we entered Room 7 it was shabby and the carpet was very dirty. I had booked this hotel for a colleague from Hong Kong, so this was very embarrassing. I consequently learnt from my colleague that she had been given the wrong door key to the hotel and was locked out for some time when trying to gain entry during her stay; this is unforgiveable. I emailed the hotel informing them that I was unhappy about the room but received no response. This hotel really is a disgrace to Henley.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking any room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This could be a lovely hotel. Room are a generous size and have lovely features. Unfortunately our experience was let down by the following;
1. inability to get our request for 2 spare beds right despite confirming twice prior to arrival (my husband had to spend the night on the floor as a consequence) and the 1 put up bed we were provided with broke half way through the night,
2. No out of hours reception and the out of hours number provided rang straight to answer phone.
3.dirty showers (I had to wash hair out of mine and I wasn't the only one in our party who had this experience).
4. rude staff - we were told to "wait a minute" when we asked to place our breakfast order 15 minutes after sitting down and all requests were met with a lot of huffing and puffing.
5. Breakfast selection - in my view coco pops does not constitute a selection of cereals as promised on the menu.
6. Quality of breakfast - key ingredients were missing and the eggs had clearly been cooked in far too much vinegar. Others also had problems with raw sausages, dried out mushrooms and mouldy tasting tomatoes.
Worst of all was the staffs attitude when presented with our experience - not an apology in sight. Such a shame as it is in a great location and with a little effort and change of staff could be absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

İt was the worst "hotel" experience that I had in my life! the staff is very unpolite. The whole place has the smell of the fish. It is so noisy because of the street and the restaurant. ıt is quiet expensive compared with the room and service quality. I would never name it as a hotel. The breakfats is very bad and the rooms are hot in the summer.

Room Tip: ı would not recommend this place at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siralali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed one night here, attending a wedding in the area, our first experience of the relatively new 'Milsoms' venture, restaurants attached to and integrated with Loch Fyne restaurants. Other than some problems with the parking, I can definitely recommend it: spacious bedroom, comfortable bed, shower and loo squeezed in but adequate for the odd night, helpful and friendly staff. For breakfast (served in Loch Fyne) I ordered 'a kipper' but up came (faithfully following the menu) a pair of kippers - OK but cooked at too high a temperature so rather chewy. Excellent strong coffee and delicious toast. The car park, accessed via a public car park, is very tight and we had to wait quite a while till a service vane left; then we were asked to leave the car keys because another guest would need to double park - not everyone would be happy doing this. You do need to use the parking as otherwise Henley is very limited and very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 295horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here one night for the Henley Festival. Large Room, nice features. Connected to Loch Fyne restaurant underneath. Very good value for money given the location and time of year. We would recommend a stay here over the Wetherspoon's Hotel any day. Free car park at the back, but can get very busy. Good Full English Breakfast as well (fish options available). A good nights sleep, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimEwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Henley

Property: Loch Fyne Henley
Address: 20 Market Place, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AH, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Henley 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Loch Fyne Henley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing