We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in Fab Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Fab Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Really great room (we had a surprise upgrade to La Grande Dame) and great food, both at dinner and breakfast. It was quite quiet, but we were a mid-week booking. Staff were fantastic and we loved Henley for a wander by the river. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosElvinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positve review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Henley.

I am really pleased that we were able to upgrade you to one of our deluxe suites, which I agree is an amazing room ! I am also pleased that the Bistro team looked after you well at dinner and breakfast and that the food was great. I will ensure that your comments are circulated around the team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin Henley again soon.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    213
    128
    62
    28
See reviews for
65
427
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice apartment off the courtyard, with an outdoor smoking area, lights and fire was not on when we arrived!, ash on the floor and a dirty ashtray. Apartment on first view looks lovely, not as clean when close up, shower dripped all night, i normally sleep like a log but not on this night, very frustrating, i did mean to mention this but my husband checked out for us, shower head full of lime-scale, the roll top bath was not very inviting as the over flow drain again had lime scale around it, i personally don't think wooden toilet seats are very hygienic!, milk in the fridge had gone off. very pricey considering there was no breakfast included and a fifteen pounds parking charge! food lovely and staff very polite. i am sorry i have written my first negative review , expected more from hotel Du vin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay and whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed the food in the Bistro and the staff were all very polite during your stay, I am of course extremely concerned regarding the comments about your room.

I have addressed the issues you raised and these have now been resolved by my Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager. The shower heads are descaled every 3 months, so I am sorry that there was a build up in the shower head in your room which was also causing the dripping. This head has now been replaced. Housekeeping have rechecked the room and descaled the bath overflow again. I can assure you that we set ourselves very high cleanliness levels in our bedrooms and bathrooms which my head housekeeper is rigorously reinforcing with her team.

In regards to the parking charge, we only have limted parking at the hotel and have the double park cars in our secure parking area, therefore we have to offer a valet parking service in order to ensure our parking area is safe and maximised.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Hotel du Vin Henley again in the near future.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were a last minute booking on a Sunday night, there were no standard rooms left however we got a fantastic looking room in the courtyard with a freestanding bath and loads of space. Our only fault with this room was that the door rattled throughout the night due to the high winds, maybe some kind of seal would stop this?
Breakfast was one of the best with lots of choice, same with dinner, all staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely place to stay. Only negative comment would have to be the £15 charge to park in the car park overnight. Spaces outside the hotel are free from 6pm-8am and free all day Sunday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Henley and I am really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, that the breakfast and dinner were of a high standard and that the staff were welcoming and friendly.

I was not aware that there is a problem with the door to the room you stayed in, so thank you for bringing this to my attention. My maintenance manager has already resolved the problem so there will be no reoccurence of the issue.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Hotel du Vin Henley again soon.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Recently stayed as a group with friends. None of us are slow to complain, but equally we hope to compliment the good.
All the staff (reception, bar and restaurant) seemed to be trying very hard to get service right and provide a cheerful environment, and if in one case not particularly cheerful was efficient.
We had large king bed rooms were excellent and quiet apart from being able to hear the occupants of the room above walking across the floor. The bathrooms were also large and well equipped with the best shower I have ever found in an hotel. Some trendy aspects might have been strong on design but lacking a bit in function - for example the lighting in front of mirrors was inadequate.
The continental breakfast was plentiful and varied. We did not eat a main meal in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choosyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Henley.

I am really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the staff were working hard to deliver high levels of service and a great atmosphere. I will of course ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team.

Thank you again.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is going to echo a lot of other reviews but hopefully it's balanced.
First up: a great building with some superb rooms, quirky touches; a real change from stamped-out modern hotels. We were greeted by a superb receptionist who suggested we could park the car on a meter for 40p/2 hours - and top it up in the morning which saved the £15 valet parking. She also showed us the room, let us check in early; nothing was too much trouble.
Our room (Jacuma) was great albeit traffic noise could be a problem for some but it wasn't too obtrusive. We had a roll-top bath, great shower and an old fashioned wooden toilet! Beds were really comfortable but the absence of any hotel guide, expensive water etc. were a negative.
So far HdV would be looking at 4-5 stars. We ate out at Villa Marina which whiilst pricey was good and returned for a night cap which was fine but again over-priced.
So how did they lose the stars?
Breakfast. Appalling. Indifferent staff; the guy who took us to our table looked like he wanted to be somewhere else; toast was served early & we asked for some with my wife's cooked breakfast "you've already got some" was the waiters' comment. Sure enough no toast came with the cooked breakfast so we eventually got the same waiter's attention & he smirked when I said that we'd ordered it. No-one checked if the meals were OK, which they weren't.
We complained at reception (as all the staff had disappeared) and they deducted the cost of the cooked breakfast - again good service from a different receptionist who said that she'd speak to the restaurant manager later.
In summary a great hotel let down by some very poor staff in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the front - traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Henley.

I am pleased to read that on the whole your had an enjoyable stay and that the reception team afforded great customer service. I am however disappointed that the breakfast service let you down in the morning. I have already spoken with my Bistro Manager and further focus is being put on retraining the staff members responsible for breakfast to ensure that the high levels of customer service in other departments is continued in the Bistro.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to wlecoming you back to the hotel when you will experience the improvements.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Prior to staying we visited the hotel and they kindly showed us various room options and we selected the "Morgenhof" room. When we subsequently booked, their email confirmation made no reference to the specific room just the grade, it took three phone calls before the required confirmation was received.

We were staying the evening of our wedding so this detail was important.

Upon arrival reception was not particularly welcoming & we had to struggle with luggage to the room.

During our two day stay there were a number of irritants, drinks on the terrace, slow service wrong drink delivered. Slow service in the bar area, but this seemed due to a lack of sufficient staff.

We did not eat in the hotel as we know Henley well and there are far better options available in the town.

Our impression was that whilst some staff were charming, the majority were inexperienced and lacked training.

The room was fine, the bathroom great, the location is excellent but the overall experience was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Henley.

I am very concerned to read that you found the stay disappointing due to some of the new team members you encountered lacking experience. Every new member of staff undertakes a structured training programme to equip them with the necessary skills and knowledge they need to deliver the standard of service expected at a Hotel du Vin. I will of course check with the department managers to confirm that any recent new starters are progressing at the level they should be to ensure that your experience will not be repeated.

I am however pleased that you liked your room and that the other staff you encountered looked after you well.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Hotel du Vin Henley again.

Regards,

Phil Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel has some fantastic rooms with a difference, food is good and the bar worth sitting in (unlike most bars in hotels). Parking can be a bit tricky especially if you are trying to find it for the first time (Henley has an unforgiving one way system if you miss it) but they will wisk it away somewhere.

Room Tip: I havent had a bad one and been there five or six times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us and I am really pleased to read that you had another enjoyable stay and meal in our Bistro.

As you have commented, we do have a range of great rooms, retaining the original charm of the old brewery and including some amazing monsoon showers and roll top baths. We have a car drop off area which can be accessed by turning left just past the hotel main entrance where you can unload your car before one of our valet car porters parks your car for you in our secure car park.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel du Vin Henley when you have the opportunity.

Regards,

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing